[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Religion is frustrating.

October 20, 2002 - 10:46 PM

    First of all, happy birthday to Khara. I've been digging around my house for a stamp so that I can send her birthday card tomorrow morning. So far I've had no luck. My family is stampless.

    Tonight was pretty dreadful at the video store. Again. I had to spend Saturday night there too. Tons of people came in to return videos, so I was overrun. "If one more person returns a video, I will cry," I informed a random customer. Thirty seconds later a little boy came in to return a video game. Somehow I managed not to curl up in the fetal position and ignore everyone.

    Come to think of it, I wasn't having a great day before the video store. The priest at church made me so mad. I wouldn't accept communion from him. I changed lines to avoid it. Last week this guy was spouting thinly veiled anti-Semitic sentiments. This week he took on abortion, homosexuality, and divorce. Now, I'm about as pro-life as you get. I believe abortion is the taking of a human life. I have a definite problem with homosexuality being put in the same catefory. "It used to be a damnable offense," the priest reminded us, obviously longing for the good old days. He said that any Catholic who votes for a politician that is pro-choice or pro-gay is a hypocrite. So, if I believe gay people have the right to be legally married, I'm a hypocrite? According to him, yes. I'm so sick of Christians who don't follow the model of Christ. He was friends with prostitutes! Did that make him a hypocrite? Gah.

    On the other hand, I'm also sick of people who hate religion. For example, my little sister went around the neighborhood selling candy for school last week. A woman saw that my sister attends a private Catholic school, and said, "I don't buy from Catholics." She promptly slammed the door in my sister's face. The kid just turned twelve. What the hell? She's just a kid. What would possess a person to judge a child based on their religion? I would never do that to a kid. Any kid. It's just not right.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.