[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Fractured Fairy Tales

June 12, 2002 - 8:46 PM

    It's been a depressing few days.

    First of all, Sonia and Psycho have (thankfully) broken up. It was actually he who did the dumping, bringing me to the realization that he could have done anything to her and she wouldn't have broken up with him. The list of his offenses now includes date rape, which makes me want to have someone go kick his ass. That bastard. The startling, confusing part is Sonia's reaction. The night after he raped her, she went to buy him accessories for his new apartment! She made him dinner. In short, she pretended like it didn't happen. Even when he did it again a few nights later. Even when he beat her up so badly that she had a black eye, Sonia would not dump this guy. It's utterly incredible.

    And now that Sonia is free of Psycho, she has found a new boyfriend: Psycho's roommate. Somebody please kill me. His roommate? Oh, that's safe. Apparently the roommate, who I'll simply call Josh, has already told her he loves her. Many times. Josh and Sonia have already begun planning what they will name their children. In other words, Josh has a Knight In Shining Armor Complex. He believes that he has saved Sonia (read: Damsel In Distress) from the evil Psycho. They should now proceed to ride into the sunset together. I swear to God that everyone around me is living in a mentally incompetant fairy tale.

    I told Sonia I want to take her to get tested. Psycho did not use a condom, and God only knows what STDs he might have. My official advice to her was to cut herself off from Psycho and his friends. Don't go to his favorite restaurant. Don't go to his apartment. He's dangerous. Find a nice boy who has no connection to Psycho. It is not worth risking her safety.

    Unfortunately, Sonia has heard too many fairy tales of the late 90s in which the princess decides to fight back. Her plan is to "make his life a living hell." My advice was, "Don't live in a Jennifer Lopez movie." I mean, for the love of God. Just stay away from the guy. There is no need to provoke further abuse just because you're delusional.

    In *my* life, my 19th birthday is tomorrow. It's not exactly a fairy tale, but maybe that's not such a bad thing.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.