[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Pop Disaster

June 16, 2002 - 5:17 PM

    I had to work for six hours today. It was pretty boring because I was all alone. I (slowly) read this week's Entertainment Weekly from cover to cover. I started making a list of movies that I want to rent in the future. I rented the movie SLC Punk. I made myself microwave popcorn and subsequently burned it because a bunch of customers chose that moment to enter the video store. In short, I tried my best to keep myself from losing my mind.

    Last night was the Pop Disaster concert. Unfortunately, it almost lived up to its name. I was supposed to be at Sonia's house at 4:00. I actually arrived at 4:27, but who's counting? Of course, Sonia did not mind because she was busy entertaining her new boyfriend. I was not thrilled to see him, but I was interested. Josh is seemingly the very opposite of Psycho. Whereas Psycho was abusive and controlling, Josh seems docile and controllable. It's like dating a deer. "Do whatever you want to do," he kept repeating when Sonia would ask his advice on everything from whether or not to put little hair clips in her hair to if he thought she should get Sweet and Sour Chicken at Dragon Palace.

    I am still skeptical of this guy. 1.) He's Psycho's roommate. They just moved in together two weeks ago, so obviously the friendship is relatively fresh. Sonia should not be anywhere near that asshole, so dating his roommate is probably not the best call. 2.) He said "I love you" after dating for, like, two minutes. In my opinion, that is clearly a sign of bizarre neediness and desperation. Not to mention that it must lack sincerity. He doesn't even know her; how can he love her? 3.) His heroic white knight routine is a little old. Perhaps he is striking while she is vulnerbable. He *is* friends with Psycho. That does not say good things about his credibility as a decent human being.

    Besides, their PDA was killing me. "Pass the chicken." Kiss. "Do you need a refill?" Kiss. "Psycho is such an asshole." Kiss. Oh yeah! Did I mention that she still mentions Psycho all the time? On the phone last night, when she called Josh, she kept asking if Psycho was with a girl. If I were Josh, I would have to wonder why Sonia was so interested in the nocturnal goings on of her ex-boyfriend. Meanwhile, I just sat there averting my eyes to all the mushiness of new "love."

    When Sonia and I finally got on the way to the concert, I came to a dreadful realization. I had left the tickets in my car. So we had to turn around. Dammit. I'm still kicking myself for that. So the whole way there, all I could think was, "I'm missing Saves The Day. What have I done?" It was downright depressing. Almost as depressing as Sonia repeatedly asking me if she thought Psycho wanted to go out with her again. Oy.

    Luckily, Fate was (somewhat) on my side! Saves The Day was only halfway through their set when we arrived so I still got to hear "At Your Funeral" and "Firefly." I did miss Simple Plan though, which was a bit upsetting but not enough to really make me sad. In the end, it was a good concert experience. Green Day was absolutely awesome. They had a guy in a chicken costume on stage. What more could you ask for? Blink 182 was great as usual. It was my fifth time seeing them in concert. I'm a little tired of their childish behavior, but I'm not ready for them to come out with a serious album or anything like that. That would definitely suck.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.