[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Job

May 26, 2002 - 12:52 AM

    If my last entry seemed somehow incomplete, that's because it was. I was making a list that I didn't get to add. Here it is:

    Why This Job Is A Bad Idea:

    *I start out at $5.50 an hour and will receive raises as I gain experience. I made $7.50 an hour last summer. Taking a pay cut is stupid.

    *If I continue to work after school starts up again, I have to work shifts on holidays like Thanksgiving and Christmas

    *I will have to work weekends for a while. Then I only get to work about three days a week. At $5.50 an hour. Read: I will be broke.

    *Did I mention it's $5.50 an hour?

    Why This Job Is A Good Idea:

    *It is very close to my house. This means that the chances of me being late are lowered.

    *Where else am I going to work? I can't find any evidence that Pacific Sunwear is currently hiring. (The store in my mall has not opened yet.)

    *I don't have to work five days a week like I did at the office. Also, I won't have to wake up early. I'll be home for Passions.

    *Any money is better than no money.

    I started the job on Friday night. It's slightly more difficult to be a video rental clerk than one might think. Slightly. Then I had to work Saturday from eleven to two-thirty. It wasn't too bad. My schedule for June is sort of dismal because I'm not working many hours. I think I may need a second job. I won't make enough money at this wage at these hours. Gah.

    The one perk was free movie rentals. Friday night my boss let me rent The Others for free. Saturday night I went in to rent a movie and the teenagers working there charged me, saying that we only get older movies for free unless the boss allows it. Damn it. I have to rent movies when the boss is scheduled so that I don't get stuck paying. Couldn't I get that one stupid little perk without a hassle? Dammit. Dammit. Dammit.

    Josie called and wanted to go out. I initially said yes, but then later pretended that I couldn't because I was stuck babysitting. She wanted to go to a dance. I have no idea what kind of dance she was talking about. I suppose it really doesn't matter because I have a passionate hatred of dancing. I have no idea why I agreed in the first place. Probably because I feel guilty about ditching her all the time. Thank God I fixed that problem, huh? Oy.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.