[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Philosophy

May 28, 2002 - 10:12 PM

    I'm guessing that I'm about to enter a period of stagnation. I've been doing too much lately so it's about time that a whole lotta nothing occurs.

    Today was Lisa's last day at home before she goes back to school. Yes, she only came home for two weeks of summer vacation. Yes, I made sure to remind her that she's "selfish, selfish, selfish!" (I was just kidding. Really.) It seems to me that she has taken on an "I'm doing what I want" attitude. This is worth exploring. I can see the good and bad sides of such an attitude. The good is that you'll probably end up happy--at least superficially. If you do whatever you want, whenever you want, then you're always doing what you want. Shouldn't you do what you want?

    Not if you subscribe to the Brigid School of Philosophy. I believe in considering the effects that my actions will have on others. I truly do take other people into account, especially my family. Lisa's attitude seems to dismiss this principle. For instance, Lisa's family seems a bit irked that she has chosen to stay away from them all summer. After all, she's their oldest child who just spent her first year of college away at school. They would naturally look forward to seeing her in the summer. Except that her house is too boring for Lisa. She wants to live in an apartment with friends down at school. Lisa wants to do it so Lisa does it. It's a puzzling concept.

    There are times when I envy people's ability to do what they want. They want to get drunk so they get drunk. Not me. I'm rational (in most circumstances). I look at the consequences of my actions and me and the people around me. Consequently, people sometimes feel free to be irresponsible with me because they know I'll be the designated driver in the road of life. It's enough to drive a girl to drink. (Except that drinking could result in car accidents, being arrested, loss of crucial inhibitions, and so on.)

    Then there are the other times when I get a sense of satisfaction that I have such a clear head on my shoulders. (Stop laughing.)

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.