[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

20th Birthday

June 14, 2003 - 9:22 PM

    Ah, the price of beauty.

    I just rinsed of my new Charcoal face mask off my face. (I give you the link because I'm jealous of celebrities with zealous fans who buy products just because they do; I want that kind of dedication.) I must say that my skin feels refreshed. The charcoal is supposed to suck out all the bad things in your pores, which is totally appealing to me.

    As you may have guessed, I went shopping today. Khara's feeling ill, so we couldn't go to Chicago as planned. My mom wanted to make it up to me by suggesting we go to Oakbrook to shop. (Oh, come on. You might want to go there some time. You need that link.) I love Oakbrook because it's an outdoor mall, so you never feel like you're wasting a sunny day. Plus they have a Sephora store. It was Make-up Heaven. I got a gorgeous Versace lipstick, an adorable Lorac lip polish, and some Vincent Longo concealer. (Note how I didn't give you links to those items! I'm not link crazy after all.) Tess came along, and she didn't buy anything. I admire her for this ability. I'm a complete and utter sucker. For instance, when we went into the Origins store, I was talked into a "hand massage" which led me into buying their skin care line along with the charcoal mask. That cost $40. I spent $60 at Sephora. I also bought a $60 white skirt at Banana Republic. Somehow, while I spent $160, Tess kept all her money. It's just amazing. What's even weirder is that she has a job. I'm still looking for one.

    Thank God for birthday money.

    Speaking of birthdays, mine was yesterday. Goodbye teenage angst. Hello twentysomething angst! I woke up somewhat late. (I also got home late the night before.) My family took me to a favorite restaurant for a great lunch. My aunt, grandma, and great-aunt came over and we ate cake. I went to a 9:30 showing of Finding Nemo with Tess, Ophelia, and Buffy. I think it's kind of funny that I went to see a G-rated film on my 20th birthday. Funny or sad. We went to Steak N Shake afterwards so that Tess could give me my presents (a photo album and a book about the great movie couples). The waitresses sang to me and brought me a brownie with ice cream. I felt like we didn't leave our waitress a big enough tip. In fact, the money issue was a little irritating. I don't buy birthday presents for all my friends, but I've never made someone pay for something on their own birthday. I always cover their movie ticket and dinner. All I ordered was a Coke, and my friends didn't even offer to pay for it.

    I'm going backwards, so now I'll talk about Thursday:

    Lisa and I went to see The Red Hot Valentines at the Metro. They were really great. The kids around me were totally annoying though. I hate when people push to get to the front. It's a hundred times worse if they're short. When a short person pushes past me, I get the urge to swat at them. Go away. Anyway, these girls behind me were plotting to make a run for it. As the first one tried to get past me, she said, "Excuse me. My friend's up there."

    "Yeah, so is mine," I said in my bitchiest tone. It was true. Lisa, who happens to be short, had already pushed her way to the front. The girl kept going despite my remark. I was actually glad when people started pushing everyone around because I was feeling unusually aggressive. Stupid kids.

    Because nothing can ever be simple, our train going home was delayed for over an hour. I spent the first minutes of my birthday on a bus that took us to a train station in the suburbs. By the time we got back to my car, it was 1:30 in the morning. We went to a 24-hour donut shop and ate cake donuts in honor of my birthday. I then went home and slept for a long time, although I kept dreaming about a birthday party that no one showed up at.

    P.S. If you want a Lorac lip polish of your own, which, trust me you do, find them here. My favorite is Kiss.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.