[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Cathleen

November 19, 2003 - 4:25 PM

    To take a break from my job woes, here are some thoughts on friendship:

    I think I have found the most perfect friend in the world in Cathleen. She seriously does and says all the things you would want a friend to do and say. If I were to write a fictitious best friend for myself, she would be modeled after Cathleen. I wish I had this kind of luck with men, but I don't.

    You might be wondering what kinds of things I'm talking about. First of all, she laughs at all my jokes in this great, genuine way. She even laughs at the little mini-jokes. One time Sandy, Cynthia, Cathleen, and I were shopping at Target. I was wearing my beloved pink shoes and a pink sweater. Sandy picked up a pink shirt and said I should get it.

    "Pink's not my color," I said casually.

    Cathleen thought it was very funny. She just gets me. Where other people take me too seriously, she always knows when I'm kidding around. She tells other people funny things I said, which feels really good. When I was at her house a couple nights ago, her mom came home and revealed that she's heard all these "Brigid stories." For some reason that I have yet to figure out, my personality is much better with Cathleen than most other people. It wasn't that way at first. I thought she was sort of a tough girl and much cooler than me. I was intimidated. Somewhere between Irish Literature class and the play Jake's Women, I realized that I had misjudged her entirely. She's vulnerable, funny, terribly smart, and just a great person.

    Oh! Here's an example of something she said that made me think, In a perfect world, people would say things like this and mean them. Thursday night was the preview show for The Laramie Project. She left immediately after instead of staying for the traditional mini-party. When I said goodbye to her, I gave her a little bit of a hard time about ditching us. (I was kidding.) The next day she told me, "As I was driving home, I was thinking, 'Maybe I should have stayed. Brigid was there.'" It might be pathetic, but I didn't think anyone considered me a great incentive for staying anywhere. I love that she says things like that. I love that she tells her mom stories about what I said that day.

    I just think she's fantastic.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.