[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Arts

April 25, 2003 - 10:13 PM

    I'm sitting home on a Friday night watching The Simpsons. Sure, it's a really good show, but it's still sad. As usual, it's my fault that I'm here. I didn't call anyone to go out.

    Anyway, this week has been all right. Easter was spent with my dad's side of the family. We invited them over for a ham dinner. (I ate chicken; I don't eat mammals.) That night I took my twelve year old sister to see the movie Chicago. She's really fond of the song "Roxie," so she wanted to see it. It was my third viewing. I really love that movie.

    Wednesday night was the awards ceremony for the art & literary magazine. I got an Honorable Mention for my poem "At Nineteen." It would be fine except that the second place poem was really bad. Here are a few lines: "Like a plague of caterpillars eating leaves/ And your own vision fractured like an insect's eye/ Can never see reality again." There were about thirty bug metaphors in this thing.

    I kind of have a little bit of a thing for this guy. Let's call him Sam. He's in my Cultural Diversity class, and he's from Poland. He was at the awards ceremony too. He won first place for a photograph and an Honorable Mention for an essay he wrote. I talked to him for a little while afterwards, but I wasn't really sure of my interest level. I so rarely get crushes. The next day, I walked in five minutes late to Cultural Diversity. (This is very common for me. I'm always late for that class.) This time the teacher stopped me. Sam had told him all about my "writing achievement," so he wanted to congratulate me. After class, Sam pulled out last year's magazine and told me about how he had looked up my poem. I was impressed that a.) he took the initiative to find my old poem and b.) he gave the teacher all the details about my current poem. The teacher even knew the title, so Sam must have told him. I took all of this as a good sign that maybe Sam likes me. I'm such a dork. I'll be twenty in a couple months, and I still can't say for certain whether or not this guy likes me.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.