[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Day

September 09, 2003 - 8:37 PM

    I ditched school today. It's probably too early in the semester to ditch class, but I realized that I forgot to do half of an assignment for Research Methods. Naturally I couldn't go to Social Psychology either. I wanted to avoid one of those sitcom confrontations where I run into my Research teacher and have to explain why I'm there. I sent each teacher a vague e-mail saying that I wouldn't be in class. To my horror, the Social Psychology teacher e-mailed me and asked why I wasn't going to be in class.

    I thought about writing, "Feel free to mark this as an unexcused absence. There isn't a good reason for why I missed class today."

    Then I thought better of it.

    "I started feeling sick yesterday afternoon, and I didn't feel any better this morning. I knew I wouldn't be very focused in class, so I took the day off. I will definitely be there on Thursday."

    That's reasonable, right? It's a cleaner story anyway. He can't question me on it because what if I was actually sick? Then he'd feel bad. He won't take that chance. Then again, it's difficult to catch a cold in September when it's eighty degrees outside.

    Anyway, after a few hours of working on homework and reading a few chapters of Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married by Marian Keyes, I went to work. It wasn't that awful, but I'm not very fond of Ben's secretary. She's the one who tells me what to do, and she's sort of a hateful bitch. Vera, not her real name, is one of those people who gets a tiny little bit of power and suddenly thinks she controls the universe. It's very annoying. To make matters worse, I'm the only one she has any control over, so I suffer the whole of her power trip.

    Meanwhile, I've bribed the office drama queen into being my friend. I figure that it's better that she likes me, as it will assure that she doesn't spread any rumors about me. Plus being at work is better when you're friendly with your co-workers. I was thrilled when Lori, the hyper-sensitive gossip, mentioned that she liked Sex and the City. Against all my better judgement, I lent her my Season One tapes and my Season Two DVDs. Lori has yet to return them, but she has warmed up considerably. I'm going to visit a psychic with her and two other co-workers on Friday. It will be just like the characters in Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married, which is also the story of four female co-workers who visit a psychic after work one day. Luckily, Vera will not be joining us.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.