[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

To Call or Not To Call

September 03, 2003 - 6:48 PM

    A while back I had a very minor attraction to a guy named Sam. He was flirtatious and very sweet. Actually, my first impression that he was too nice. He even has one of those Dickensian childhood tales. He's an orphan from Poland. As you well know, I'm romantically challenged. A little romance with a sweet Polish orphan sounded like a good idea. Last May, during the last week of school, I gave him my phone number and said, "Call me if you want to hang out this summer." He gave me his phone number and home address on a little slip of paper that is still in my purse pocket. He didn't call. I didn't call.

    Why didn't I call? Well, he didn't call! As the initiator of the phone number swapping, I felt that I had thrown the ball into his court. If I called him before he called me, I might look like some crazy, infatuated girl. Today was the first time I've seen him since that day in May. I smiled brightly and said hello. He stopped to talk for several minutes and gave me his new card with his phone number on it.

    "Call me," he said.

    Call him? Call him? What is he talking about? To keep my little metaphor going, he kept the ball in his court for four months before throwing it back to me out of nowhere! Now what the hell am I supposed to do? I can't call him, can I? Or should I? I don't really have anyone else lined up. The last guy that I gave my number to ended up calling me at 3:00 in the morning, and waking up my family. He works at the Quick Stop, and I've only been around him a few times. We had fun working together the night we met, and he asked me if I wanted to see a movie some time. I said sure. The next thing I know he's calling me in the middle of the night. That conversation went something like so:

    Him: Brigid?

    Me: Yeah?

    Him: Did I wake you up?

    Me: It's three o'clock in the morning.

    Him: So did I wake you?

    Me: Yes.

    Him: Oh.

    It's a little fuzzy after that. See what I mean though? I can't call Sam. I might be like Crazy Guy Who Calls At 3 AM. Only I'd at least call in the early afternoon or something.

    1 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.