[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Acting 101

November 20, 2002 - 11:50 PM

    I have pulled myself away from the movie The Way We Were so that I could type this entry within the designated twenty-four hour period. Because I'm very very dedicated to writing every single day.

    It turns out that the director was able to make up his mind without call backs. And... I'm in! I'm playing the maid, which is the role I wanted because she's the funniest one. Within like, two days, of being back in the theatre scene, I've rediscovered why actors get such a bad name. With some exceptions, actors are just about the most jealous, catty, insincere people you will ever encounter. Oy. There were only three roles for girls, which meant that a few girls were disappointed. Instead of being classy or dignified, some people really let loose with their bitchy sides.

    For example, there's this one girl who always gets cast. Let's call her Christina. Now, because Christina has been in every show, she is the object of much criticism and jealousy. People accuse her of being a bad actress. They say that the director has a crush on her. They say a lot of things. Then the unthinkable happened. Christina was not cast in this play--and the peasants rejoiced. Seriously. The other jilted actresses were ecstatic.

    "Finally she'll know what it feels like to be rejected," said Christina's ex-roommate maniacally.

    "Yes," said another girl. "When I found out I didn't make it, I was so upset. Then I found out she didn't make it, and it was all worthwhile!"

    What kind of people are absolutely thrilled when somebody is disappointed? Sure, I can see why they'd get tired of her being the star of everything. By their very nature, actors crave attention and recognition. It doesn't give them the right to be so gleeful about it.

    Meanwhile, I bought the world's cutest hat at American Eagle today. I couldn't decide if it looked right on me, but the sales guy insisted that it did.

    "I hate how I look in hats, so I'm especially critical of other people in hats," he informed me. "This hat's difficult. you have to have just the right look to pull it off."

    I tried it on, and asked if it looked okay.

    "Very cute," he said.

    "You're not just saying that to sell me the hat?"

    "Trust me. I would rather do a return than allow someone to wear the wrong hat. I want people to ask, 'Where did you get that?' and not 'Where did you get that?'"

    I tend to trust the opinion of gay men, so I went with it. I'm totally in love with the hat. I may be more excited about this hat than the prospect of being on stage again. I shouldn't say that. There's nothing more gratifying--aside from saving babies or endangered animals--than being on stage in front of an audience, especially when you're making them laugh. It's an incredible feeling. Backstage is a whole 'nother story.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.