[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Back to school

January 15, 2002 - 9:59 AM

    I'm at school.

    Isn't that a sad looking statement? I think so. I just got done with Psychology Lab and I have an hour to kill before Psychobiology. Today sure is psychofun. It's funny. I have the same teacher for both courses. His accent is difficult for me to understand at times, but he seems nice enough. There was only one other person in my class, which was bizarre. I guess I won't have to worry about finding a lab partner.

    Hmm. Well, yesterday was the first day of school. It was pretty uneventful. Most of my classes are filled with unfamiliar faces. Then again, not many of the faces around here are familiar. I talked to Claire on the phone last night. She started junior college last week. Apparently many of our former classmates go there, so she knows tons of people already. She saw Ophelia, who she talked to briefly. Claire says she's as quiet as ever, but she mentioned me. I'm sorry that I sent her a somewhat sentimental e-mail. I was in a weird mood: the kind of mood that should prohibit you from speaking to anyone, as you will probably say something stupid.

    Claire also mentioned that she found a great place to go "chiefing." I (somewhat) gently reminded her that she's not supposed to be doing that, what with the rehab and all. "Rehab helped me a lot," she assured me, "Like, they told me that once you try harder drugs, you can't go back to just smoking weed. But I did it! I haven't had anything but weed since going there. It also taught me how to live with fourteen bitches, so I'm a more understanding person now." I didn't know what to say, so I told her that if she's still smoking weed when she's thirty, I'll disown her. That gives her eleven years to get herself together.

    I feel pretty good. I love when people notice my efforts. For instance, yesterday I ran into a girl I know from the drama department. She looked me up and down and said, "I like this. The coat. Everything." I got a new coat two weeks ago. My other coat is a bright blue winter coat that makes me feel very large. The new one is long and form fitting. It's called a "theater coat" for unknown reasons. I like the look of it. My sister told me she didn't think she could pull it off because it's too adult, but she liked how it looked on me. I was also wearing one of my new sweaters: violet and white striped with waves of shiny silver throughout it. Then there was my trusty jeans and Dr. Martens. It's funny how sometimes new clothes can make you feel a little better.

    On the subject of fashion, I've decided that I'll probably never be fashionable. On Sex & The City, Carrie vehemently denied ever having worn Candie's shoes. I felt offended, even though I don't wear these shoes myself. I still see them as legitimate shoes. I would never in a million years spend $400 on shoes. I don't like expensive clothing, not that I could afford it. I'm quite happy in my non-designer dresses and Old Navy t-shirts. Truthfully, I'm barely aware of what's "cool" anymore. My aunt and uncle gave me a sweater for Christmas, which I happen to be wearing right now. "I don't know if I like the neckline," I told my mother. "It's called a boat neck. They're *very* in right now," she said. I'm especially curious as to what kind of jeans people are supposed to be wearing. I like flairs and bootlegs. These things could be wretchedly out of style and I would be none the wiser. Same thing goes for tan nylons! Sometimes I wear tan nylons, but I guess you're not supposed to. Oh, whatever. I'm hopeless.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.