[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Big Update

January 14, 2004 - 11:36 AM

    I need to be better about writing in this journal. I have gotten much better about updating my livejournal, but this one has suffered as a result.

    I started school this week. I�m taking eighteen credit hours: a strange mix of classes that interest me and classes that really, really don�t. I think the most fun class is Topics In Literature: Horror Films. We are assigned horror movies to watch, which we then write about and discuss. My only problem is that I�ll have to watch The Texas Chainsaw Massacre later this semester. I�ve been avoiding this film for years. Why do I think it will be so frightening? I don�t know. Maybe I have a subconscious fear of chainsaws.

    The most boring class I signed up for is Chemistry and Society. Elle wanted me to take it with her, so I obliged. I needed another science course anyway. I suppose it may come in handy someday when I, a member of society, use chemistry.

    I did end up going to Indiana with my family on Saturday, even though I started freaking out like a sixteen year old as soon as I agreed to go. I thought I would work on my research report at the hotel. Part of me knew that this was not going to happen, but I was still reasonably surprised at the depths of my procrastination and avoidance. Instead of working like mad to complete the report, I went to T.J. Maxx with my cousin Petunia and one of my sisters. Petunia loves that store, which is surprising for a girl with a Louis Vuitton wallet. Afterwards we went to the movies, which is about the point when I completely forgot about the research paper. I honestly saw no reason not to go see a movie.

    In the end, it did not matter. I don�t have to meet with the teacher about my paper until January 26th, thanks to a little bit of luck and a vast knowledge of how to postpone things. I promise to work on it very soon.

    Meanwhile, I am completely in love with my own hair. I got it cut last week, and I can�t get over it. It�s very curly and bouncy. The length was really weighing it down, so now it feels light and free. It might be weird to assign traits like these to one�s hair, but I can�t help it. It�s really cute. (Hopefully I will get over my obnoxious love of my hair very soon. Give me time.)

    Since I have some time, I might as well go back and talk about things that I haven�t had the energy (or motivation) to write about before. I suppose I should start with New Year�s Eve. When I last spoke of it, I was undecided what to do. As it turned out, Tess assumed that we would be hanging out. She invited Buffy and I over for a quiet night of watching movies. Even though I am far from any sort of party girl, I felt that this was a little too mundane for New Year�s Eve. I had hoped to hang out with my theatre friends, but I was still too stubborn to go to Brian�s house. When Khara called and said there was a party, I decided to take a risk. Even though her roommate Kay would be there, I agreed to go. I also agreed to go to dinner at a Chinese restaurant with Tess and Buffy. They both felt bad that I was forced to go to the party. (I couldn�t hurt their feelings! What was I supposed to say? "I found a better offer"?) As it turned out, there weren�t very many people at the party. The Love of My Life was not present. Kay was. I started drinking a little bit, hoping it would drown her out. It didn�t work.

    This is something I should remember in the future. I am not a happy drinker. I do not become more tolerant of people I don�t like. Maybe I would if I were to actually get full out drunk, but I could never stand that loss of control. Anyway, Kay and I are simply not destined to be friends. She actually turned the channel on Conan O�Brien. What kind of a person does that? I can certainly never fully trust someone who would do that to me. Also, there is a long-standing dislike that dates back to high school. An example of this is when she was talking about a school dance. She just couldn�t decide whom to go with because there were two guys who wanted her. She said, "I�ve got them wrapped around my little finger." This statement was full of arrogance, bitchiness, and had this weird snakelike feel to it. I don�t think she�s funny. I don�t think she�s cute. For a while I toyed with the idea of being nicer about her, for Khara�s sake, but I gave up.

    Going back even further, Christmas was okay. It wasn�t especially memorable or fun. My dad picked out my gifts, but he didn�t use my amazon.com wish list, which baffled me. If someone gives you a list of things they want, why wouldn�t you just select things from it? Thankfully, Buffy understood this when purchasing my Secret Santa gift. She got me The Devil Wears Prada : A Novel by Lauren Weisberger. I appreciated her use of the list.

    I feel a little better having properly updated this journal.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.