[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

*bounce*

March 15th, 2001 - 10:27 PM

    I feel tremendous. I had a meeting today for all the people going to England. I'm actually getting excited to go. This was one of my goals. I don't want to waste a trip to England. (Not to mention the five thousand dollars it's costing my parents!) I want to be happy and get the full enjoyment. You never know. Even I might be able to put cynicism and depression aside for a week.

    Today I found out that something I wrote is in a local newspaper on the opinion page. It's my response to an editorial. Here it is, slightly edited for privacy:

    "Reality television has nothing to do with the common person�s reality. In fact, it doesn�t have anything to do with anyone�s reality- except, of course, the people who choose to be on one of these shows. Not many of us will ever visit an island where will be tempted by attractive members of the opposite sex while teary-eyed significant others watch the whole thing caught on tape.

    People do not watch �reality� shows so that they can get a glimpse of reality. On the contrary, they are watching so that they can see fantastic and shocking things. They might be waiting to see an alligator attack on Survivor or a breakup on Temptation Island. People�s guilty need to watch a train wreck is what brings in advertisers and high ratings for a network.

    As a teen and a rational person, I am able to decipher between reality and what network television likes to call reality. Michelle asks �How are teens supposed to grow up and practice what is right when a television show going against all morals rises to be one of the most popular shows in America?�

    First of all, hasn�t this been going on for years? Temptation Island isn�t exactly the first popular show to exploit sexuality for profit.

    Secondly, teens are not void of intelligent thought. We don�t need television to tell us what to think. If teens, or anyone, are getting their moral code from watching the Fox Network, they need help. I don�t watch these shows because they don�t interest me. I don�t find them to be �the perfect depiction of a teen�s fantasy.� I find them to be manufactured garbage that networks put out because they know it will help to make them more money. It seems money, not morals, is the bottom line."

    So there's that. :) It's just kind of cool to have something I wrote appear in the paper. I just wish that I'd used the word morality instead of morals in that last sentence. What can I say? I wrote that really late at night.

    I'm also happy because there's no school tomorrow or Monday. Four day weekend.! Of course, there's some musical rehearsals and stuff involved there. That's pretty sucky. Even so, I'm happy. I don't mean to sound so stupid tonight. It's just not often that I feel perky anymore. I thought I'd document it in the journal.

    Speaking of that, I've been thinking about something lately. There are some people who are sarcastic and cool. They can be cynical, but no one is going to give them a hard time about it. There are always people who are going to be victims of sarcasm because they're airheads or whatever. Then there's people like me. I'm cynical and sarcastic, but I could still easily fall victim to an even more cynical person. I'm not sure if this is making sense. I realized it at a literay magazine meeting a few weeks back. I was feeling very happy and this moody sophomore girl kept looking at me funny. I realized that there are people out there who look down on me for being happy. I wish I could clearly state what I'm trying to point out. I guess it's just that I don't have very strong walls built around me. I'm still penetratable. (I have no idea if that is a word.) Even though I dislike most people because they seem so empty inside, *I* seem empty inside to people too. So maybe I'm wrong about people. I just don't know.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.