[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

channel surfing

January 04, 2003 - 11:46 PM

    I'm sitting here watching a re-run of Saturday Night Live. Matt Damon is the host, which makes the often lame show worthwhile. I don't think I've watched a whole episode of SNL since Jon Stewart hosted.

    Anyway, I had to work tonight. It was especially horrendous because I had to work with a total psycho. Maggie has worked at the video store for a very long time, and I'm guessing she's been nuts for even longer. For three straight hours, Maggie gave me a confusing lesson on Japanese culture. She told me about cross-dressing band members and Pokemon cartoon strips and other things that I simple don't care about. She showed me her drawings of Sailor Moon marrying the Backstreet Boys' Kevin. She showed me photographs of all her Halloween costumes throughout the past few years; she's always a male character. She confessed her desire to move to Japan where she believes she will finally fit in. Somehow I don't think that will be enough.

    This weekend has been very low-key in general. Tess came over Friday night to watch the movie Iris in my basement. She had to bring her own butterless popcorn because she's lactose intolerant. I could not see the point in it. Why on earth would anyone want to eat butterless popcorn? She also brought diet caffeine-free coke because she's not supposed to have caffeine either. I admire her because I know for a fact that I would be crazier than Maggie if I couldn't have caffeine or buttered popcorn. Mountain Dew, chocolate, ice cream... these are the foods that keep me alive. I would probably slowly waste away if I couldn't have them.

    Meanwhile, SNL is over and I'm watching Extra. Could this show be an cheesier? Same with Access Hollywood. I like a lot of celebrities, but these shows drive me crazy after a while. They're also part of the reason that I've lost much of my interest in California. I used to be conflicted between New York and California. Now it's an easy choice: New York all the way. I always wanted to visit Los Angeles, but the more I think about it the more I don't like it. I could never live in a place filled with so much superficiality. Plastic surgery, expensive spas, and celebrity wannabes? Not my style. No, I think I may just stick to Chicago. Then again, the snow really sucks. Maybe California is a better choice after all...

    "Extra's serving up the trends, toning Tinsel Town!" Celebrities are telling us how to get "glowing skin, luscious lips, and sexy smiles." I could never work at Extra because I could never recite lines like these with a straight face. Oh God. They just said they were going to "get the skinny on the stars" in reference to celebrity dieting routines. Why am I still watching this?

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.