[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Welcome to 2003.

January 03, 2003 - 12:55 AM

    Maybe it's because I'm middle-class or a Midwesterner, but it's very surreal when a girl I went to grade school with has a baby. That girl--woman, I guess--would be Josie. She told me about the pregnancy a few months ago, and I haven't heard from her since. Today I got an e-mail which announced the birth of Adriana Jade. There were about twenty-five pictures of the Josie in labor and the actual baby. I've never met the father, but his eyebrow ring is startling. He looks like he should be loitering in the food court at the mall. Josie looks much different than she did the last time I saw her. I guess pregnancy will do that to you. I remember thinking how stylish and together she looked. I wear jeans and sweaters everywhere. She always seemed to be dressed up. In the pictures, she looks puffy and exhausted. Again, pregnancy will do that to you. It's just weird when you haven't seen the pregnancy progress. I went from one image to another with nothing in between.

    Anyway.

    New Year's Eve was not that bad. For the past few years, we have gathered at Lisa's house. I had a really great time ringing in 2001. I was less thrilled with 2002. I can't remember much about it really, but I don't think I had much fun. I know I went to Lisa's house. Anyway, I had no idea what I was going to do this year. I got home from work and called Tess, even though I wasn't sure I wanted to hang out with her. She said her Annoying Sister, who I just realized was introduced in this diary two years ago as Moron, wanted to stay in. So Tess, of course, wanted to stay in too. I was invited to come over. "I might just take you up on that," I said, hoping it wasn't true. I immediately called Lisa.

    Lisa's friend Amy was throwing a party, but Lisa wasn't planning on spending much time there. I hadn't really wanted to go to the party, but I didn't know what else to do. I stalled because I needed time to wash the kitchen floor before my parents came home. They were having people over for dessert, and they left me in charge of the floor washing. Tess called to tell me that her family was going out to dinner and that I was welcome to join them. I told her about the floor and said to call me back when she got home. She called ten minutes later and begged me. I can't stand to say no to someone who says, "Please Brigid. Pleasepleaseplease." I said yes.

    I went to a restaurant I hate to eat dinner with a girl I hate (Annoying Sister), Tess, and their parents. It's very odd, but I hate Chicago-style pizza, which is what the restaurant is known for. Anyway, I went into stand-up comic mode. Joke after joke after joke... I wonder if it was annoying. I know Tess doesn't mind. She laughs at everything.

    I'm making a long story long. I'll try and fix that right now. After dinner, I drove Tess and Annoying Sister to Lisa's house. We got directions to Amy's house. Tess and I went back to my house to wash the kitchen floor. (She played with my cat the whole time.) We then proceeded to Amy's house. No one told us it was a Hawaiian themed event. Lisa was already there playing cards. We didn't talk to her. Tess, A.S., Lisa's younger sister and I sat around talking. Then they decided to go to another party. It was only 9:50. The video store I work at closes at 10:00. Tess and I ran in and grabbed Legally Blonde. The sound quality was terrible. We watched it anyway, stopping at 11:00 to watch the ball drop in New York City. We didn't have anything to throw or drink, so we threw the Hawaiian leis that we stole from the party up in the air. After the movie, I drove Tess home. The end.

    Okay. My New Year's Eve might not look good on paper, but we had fun anyway. I didn't ask Lisa how the other party went, but it was a high school party so I didn't want to go. I was surprised to find out that watching a movie with Tess was a completely satisfactory evening. After all, New Year's Eve is Amateur Night: a name I had never heard until this year when twenty different customers at the video store referred to it as such. Getting totally wasted is not my idea of fun.

    This is the very same answer I got when I took it last year:


    Take the What Should Your New Year's Resolution Be? Quiz


    I'm tired of writing, and I bet you're tired of reading... assuming you've made it this far. I'll write more later today or tomorrow.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.