[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Chicago Is My Kind Of Town

January 8th, 2001 - 10:41 PM

    It is Monday. I hate Mondays. Except for Ally McBeal. Anyway, I'm tired and frustrated and I'm going to pass out and die at any given moment. All in all, a fun day! I think I'm going to go to bed soon and wake up early to study for mid-term essays that I'm taking tomorrow. The mid-terms themselves begin Wednesday, but some teachers are giving us essays ahead of time. Goody. Anyway, I wrote this up last night:

    "My AOL has crashed. (Surprise. Surprise.) So I'm going to write this up off-line and post it later. Basically, I want to talk about Saturday. It was quite fun. I arrived in Chicago to pick up my friend at the train station at nine o'clock in the morning. I have to give her a fake name. ::considers it:: I'd call her Gillian, but what would happen when I need to talk about the real Gillian? I guess I'll call her "Lily" after Gillian's character in the movie House Of Mirth. (Actually, most all of the names I've given to my friends in this journal are taken from celebrities or characters in movies.) I've met Lily several times before over the past two years. I once considered her my best friend on-line, but I don't really think that anymore. I don't mean this to be insulting in any way, because I'm sure she doesn't consider me her best friend on-line either. I'm actually often bothered by the loss of closeness we have these days.

    Anyway, Lily and I, along with my sister, went shopping in Chicago for a while. We ate breakfast at Marshall Field's. She had "half a cream cheese bagel and it wasn't even real cream cheese! It was light cream cheese!" X-Files fans will know what I speak of. We talked about lots of things. Mostly, we talked about Gillian. I'm a terrible Gillian fan. I honestly believe that Gillian is the best actress that we have right now. I just can't idolize her as much as so many people that I know do. Maybe I don't really *want* to. (I know this probably doesn't seem like normal psychological analysis to most people, so I'll move on...)

    Eventually we all got to see House Of Mirth at the Music Box Theater in Chicago. It was a really beautiful and cool theater. Everything about it was wonderful. Also, the movie itself was tremendous. In the words of my beloved Jon Stewart, "Two words: Oscar speech." I won't give anything away, but I will tell you that I actually CRIED at one point. It was so great. Gillian is so talented. I also love Eric Stoltz. He's not exactly "cute", but he was so great.

    When the movie was over, I totally got attacked. June like... lept at me and hugged me. Being totally dense, I didn't even notice her running at me. She had overslept and missed the film, but met us in the lobby afterwards. I'm still not sure what to think of her. She is the most hyper person I have ever met in my entire life. She makes Leigh look calm. We walked to the Stabucks down the street, where June proceeded to terrify the employees. Well, they looked terrified to *me* anyway. Man. I don't know what to think. I hope I didn't come off as a mean person. June told me that when she had met certain other people she had been disappointed. I hope that I didn't disappoint her. I pretty much acted the way I act with the friends I see every day. I often play the serious/skeptic role. Usually it's for the sake of comedy. I'm often the straight man.

    Anyway, that was my day. Lily and I actually want to see House Of Mirth again next week. This makes me really happy for several reasons. One obvious reason is to see the movie; it was excellent. The second reason is that I like feeling that Lily and I have some piece of our friendship that hasn't been hacked to pieces. Throughout my life, I've had best friends move away and never come back in both the physical and emotional realm. I have such a hard time letting go. It's childish and silly, especially because I should be the older mature one. I just hate feeling like I've lost friendships. It makes me sad to think of what I used to have with certain people and what we have now. Take Veronica. We work together in journalism every single day and never acknowledge our past. There was a time when Veronica was my best friend. Things like that make me kind of sad, especially because I don't think the people that I miss ever miss me. It's a lonely one-way street."

    I'm such a whiner. Anyway, I hate to think that anyone other than total strangers read this diary. I originally started it for the sake of my on-line friends, but my thoughts expresses in here are sometimes more personal than I share with anyone I know.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.