[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Clueless.

February 09, 2002 - 11:57 PM

    Ah, Saturday night. Tonight was typical. I made my dad and sister watch Memento, which I insisted would be good. They told me I could never pick the movie again, but by the end they seemed to enjoy it. Sort of. After Memento, my sister wanted to watch Clueless. As soon as it started, I flashed back about five years and decided to stick around for the whole thing. I've probably seen that movie a hundred times in my lifetime. Some of it's actually still pretty funny. It's strange how many trends were brought on by that film. For my friends and me, Clueless was more than a movie; it was a lifestyle. It was what, at the wise age of twelve, we wanted our lives to be. Funny.

    After Clueless, I decided I wanted an ice cream sandwich. I made my sister accompany me on a trip to the local 24-hour conveniance store to buy some, even though it's raining and it was 11:30ish. When we got there, the store's window and door were suspiciously missing. They had cork board or something in it's place. In bright orange spray paint, it read WE'RE OPEN. I wish it had read "I assure you we're open" like in Clerks. I wanted some spray paint right then, even though I'm not the kind of person who'd do that anyway. So I got my ice cream sandwich, drove home, ate it, and signed on-line. And that brings us to this very moment. The odd thing is that I don't even feel bad about my Saturday night. I feel happy. I'm content with videos and ice cream sandwiches with my little sister. I don't know if I'm having a breakdown or a breakthrough.

    I did go out last night though. Tess is home this weekend. She called and we did our usual "So what to do you want to do?" routine, fully knowing that we'd end up seeing a movie and probably going to Barnes & Noble. Only we didn't want to see any of the movies at our movie theater. We wanted to see Gosford Park. I found a theater about forty minutes away that was playing it, so the two of us did the most spontaneous thing we've done in a while--go to a movie at a *different* movie theater. Only I'm not so good at directions. And we went waaay too far North. Let's just say we passed through several towns that we did not need to pass. Finally, though, we found the theater and entered the movie about ten minutes late, not counting previews. So it wasn't a total loss. Plus the tickets were 75 cents cheaper than at our theater.

    I had a dream about Alex last night. I was walking down a city street. Tess and Lisa walked side by side a long way ahead of me. Alex was walking alone between my friends and me. It was a strange parade of sorts. I was wearing the same pajamas that I was sleeping in, and I was sniffling from the cold. I tried to catch up with Alex, but I just couldn't seem to reach him. Then Lisa and Tess stopped at a steep hill. I caught up with them and said I wanted to go home. Alex looked hesitant too, so I put my hand on his arm and suggested that we go back. Even in my dream, I was aware that I was trying to make physical contact with him, to touch him somehow. He pulled away and began down the hill. I didn't follow him. When I woke up, I felt that this was significant. Only maybe it says more about me than it does him: my fear that if I reach for him, he won't respond.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.