[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Coffee and Jazz

April 16, 2002 - 4:54 PM

    Remember that episode of Seinfeld where George's date asks him up for coffee and he refuses because he doesn't want coffee? Then later he realizes that she was inviting him upstairs for reasons other than coffee, and he feels like a big moron. I hope Alex feels like that.

    I haven't talked to him all week, but then he showed up in the computer lab today and sat next to me. He told me about his new job at a golf course, the new jazz CD he bought, and how he enjoys dancing. I explained why I refrain from dancing. It was all pleasant enough. I later found an opening to spend more time with him. I have to go to an awards banquet next week because I won a poetry contest.

    Me: I told them I would bring two guests, but I don't even know who I'm bringing yet.

    Alex: You could ask Sonia.

    Me: Yeah, maybe... Hey. Do *you* wanna go? Next Wednesday at 5:30. I don't want to go alone. [Note: I did my best to sound like I had just come up with this idea, even though I'd been considering it for a week.]

    Alex: Well, if you can't find anybody, you could ask your parents.

    Me: Yeah, but then I'd still feel alone.

    At this point, he was noncommital. Then I found another chance. I need to finish my 100 project points, and I can get 10 by seeing a jazz band on campus on Thursday night. Alex likes jazz. I need the points. Perfect. But no.

    Me: Hey, ya wanna see the jazz band on Thursday? I gotta get my points.

    Alex: I already have 100.

    Me: But you like jazz. Come just for fun.

    Alex: I don't want to do anything extra that I don't have to.

    I wanted to scream. He said all of this very casually. It didn't have a "I never want to spend time with you ever again" quality about it. It was more of an "I'm a moron who doesn't know that you *want* to spend time with me" thing.

    Oy vey.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.