[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

I demand a recount.

November 05, 2002 - 10:52 PM

    Before I start complaining about the results of today's election, I will focus on the good parts of the day. To my surprise, giving my presentation for Adolescence class was not a horrible experience. I was so nervous about doing this, and I told the woman next to me about my anxiety.

    "You'll be fine," she said. "You have such a calm, casual personality."

    You know, it's funny. People tell me that sometimes. I'm also "laid back" and "down to earth." I tried to believe her so that I wouldn't be so nervous. I still felt pretty nervous, but I tried to keep it out of my voice. Afterwards, she said to me, "See? You're so calm."

    "So I didn't seem nervous?"

    "Not at all," she said.

    "You looked great," said the girl who was about to go next. "You made me nervous."

    I don't think anyone has ever said that to me before.

    I was also surprised by the reaction I got to my little presentation. It dealt a lot with how minority individuals deal with the dominant culture and their own culture. At the end, I had to say what struck me personally. I said that I could relate to the idea of not matching up to the American image of beauty. I told them how I hated my red hair and freckles as a kid. I desperately wanted to be a blonde. So even though I'm not a minority in the well-known sense, I still hated how Irish I looked. I expected someone to dispute this, even though it would probably have been unwarranted. The teacher asked the class if they had any questions, and I wondered what they'd say. A blonde girl raised her hand.

    "I just want you to know," she said, "that throughout the first half of high school I dyed my hair red. So I guess everybody wants what they don't have."

    I thought that was cute. Nobody else had any comments, so I was released from the scrutiny of being at the front of the class.

    After school, I went to vote for the very first time. I was still seventeen during the last presidential election. Unfortunately, my votes did nothing. The Evil One (also known as Rod Blagojevich) is the new Governor of Illinois. My state is filled with democrats, so I'm thinking of moving. Since Alec Baldwin has taken Canada, I guess I'll threaten to go to Mexico. Or New Mexico at the very least. (Did they vote Republican?)

    I suppose I'm making it sound like I'm 100% Republican. I don't think that's true. I used to always call myself moderate, leaning to the right. Then I realized that I'm always rooting for Republicans in debates, and the majority of them are pro-life. Therefore, I guess I'm a Republican. I wouldn't vote for a pro-choice candidate if he were my own brother. True, I don't have a brother, but you get the idea. (Note: there are a few circumstances where I'm more liberal. I believe in gay rights, especially their right to be legally married.)

    Anyway, the election coverage is so depressing. I can't stand Rod Blagojevich or Lisa Madigan. By the way, sorry if these people are your relatives or close family friends or something. Perhaps they're really nice people to have around on holidays, but their acceptance of infanticide sickens me to the core. What kills me is the number of pro-choice people who are deluded enough to think they're on the side of the angels here.

    "You're a known right-to-lifer," one politician accused in a debate. It would be funny if it weren't so sad. They want to turn it around and make it seem as though protecting the lives of unborn children is morally reprehensible. As if brutally killing the child that you created is the "right" thing to do. Absolutely delusional.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.