[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

birthday cakes for strangers

August 09, 2002 - 11:46 PM

    Note: I had to retype this whole damn thing. Gah.

    First of all, I am such a nerd. I bought a birthday cake for Gillian Anderson. Again.

    What can I say? I like cake.

    Anyway, Ophelia is a much bigger bitch than I realized. She didn't show up for Sonia at court today. She "didn't feel like it." I couldn't believe it. Well, actually I could, but still. Sonia and Ophelia are/were supposedly best friends, but Ophelia couldn't be bothered to testify on Sonia's behalf. Subsequently, Sonia was denied an order of protection against Psycho.
    "Ophelia is dead to me," Sonia told me this afternoon. We then talked for half an hour about how self-centered, heartless, and stupid Ophelia is. I suppose it was therapeutic, but it wasn't enough for me. I would love to give Ophelia a piece of my mind, but it seemed more appropriate for Sonia to do it. She agreed to call Ophelia and confront her.

    Fifteen minutes later, I received another phone call.
    "It's Josh," a male voice said.
    "Hey," I said cheerfully, even though I had no idea who I was talking to.
    "I just talked to Ophelia," he said. This was when I realized that I was speaking to Sonia's boyfriend, who was acting as her personal assistant. Josh reported to me what Ophelia said to him about how she didn't feel like going to court. After a few minutes, I grew tired of talking to Sonia via Josh so I asked him to put her on the phone. We spent more time coming up with appropriately negative adjectives for Ophelia. I was only slightly frustrated by Sonia when she asked, "You guys have only been spending time with Ophelia for my sake, right? You wouldn't hang out with her if it weren't for me, right?"
    "Well, I've been friends with Ophelia a long time," I reminded her. Sonia couldn't quite accept this because she's egocentric in her own right. In closing, we agreed to go see XxX or Triple X or whatever you want to call the new Vin Diesal movie.

    As I drove home from the movie, I remembered what I had said earlier about being friends with Ophelia for a long time. The more I thought about it, the more concerned I became. In high school I considered Ophelia to be one of my best friends. Sonia and I were friends, but certainly not best friends. So why am I so much more loyal to Sonia? When did it all turn around? I realize that my friendship with Ophelia was disintegrating back in high school, but I never hated her. Suddenly I find myself having nothing but disdain for the girl. I never want to see her again, but at the same time I want to find her and make her answer all my questions. There are two sides to every story, right? Why am I so quick to discount hers? I don't know. Maybe there isn't a good enough excuse for everything she's done.

    I pondered all this while eating chocolate cake, but none of the answers I came up with were satisfying. Even if they were the truth.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.