[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

shifting friendships

August 06, 2002 - 12:40 AM

    I guess I haven't been feeling very introspective lately because my writing has slowed down significantly. (By the way, the aliens did not attack, in case you were worried.)

    Sunday night's episode of Sex and the City got me thinking about my friends. Which of them will I still be friends with in old age? I've always imagined that Lisa and I would, and I still feel that way to a lesser degree. The strange truth of the matter is that we've spent almost a year away from one another without me having severe withdrawls. Sure, she visits sometimes. I went to see her at school last fall. When she said she wasn't coming home for the summer, I was angry at her for deserting her family and friends. I imagined a summer of "I wish Lisa was here." That just didn't happen.

    Instead I find myself feeling much closer to Tess than ever before. At the end of senior year, I thought we had nothing in common anymore. I felt distant with her, but that gap has closed considerably. It's gotten to the point where I can practically read her mind. Or we'll have really random moments like this:

    Tess: I was just thinking about Sex and the City.

    Brigid: Me too!

    Tess: I was thinking about Carrie's wardrobe.

    Brigid: I was thinking about the time Carrie and Mr. Big fell in the water, and she ruined that great dress.

    Deep psychic connections like that.

    Tess is the only friend I have who will go to Art Institute with me. She has the patience and interest necessary to spend several hours looking at paintings and sculptures. She is also the only one who shares and understands my air of faux fabulousness. We want to walk around Chicago in big sunglasses and scarves so that everyone will think we're celebrities in disguise. It's one of those silly ideas you come up with while giggling in an IHOP, but which you swear you're going to do someday. It feels good.

    I don't even know who this character is:

    I'm like Abby from the BSC

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.