[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Uncomfortable Night Out

August 11, 2002 - 1:48 PM

    In the next two days I have to say goodbye to both Khara and Lisa, work a six hour shift at the video store, watch Sex and the City, and still find time to pack my things for my mini-vacation to Indiana. How will I find the time? Well, first I must find out when Khara and Lisa are available for sentimental goodbyes. I'm almost afraid to call Lisa after last night...

    Lisa tends to see Tess as a punchline to a joke. I'm starting to see Tess as my best friend. It makes for an ucomfortable evening. We decided to meet at a local drive-in restaurant. Lisa and I were ten minutes late, and I felt truly awful for stranding Tess there. It only go worse. Lisa's life has become such a cliche, but she views it as being very cool. For instance, she solemnly told us about a bartender chick who drunkenly said things like, "See this on my hand? This is what men know about women." It was a squiggly line.

    "That isn't anythng," Lisa told her.

    "Exactly," the girl said. "You get it."

    She then went on to tell Lisa her life story and how she was moving to New Orleans. She invited Lisa--who she had known for three hours--to stay with her and her boyfiend during Mardi Gras. Lisa actually itends to go.

    Tess said she felt bad for the girl, for how lonely she was. Lisa repeatedly told us how she was "cool as hell." I thought she sounded like a lesbian and was shocked to hear she had a boyfriend. In short, we did not respond to the story in the way that Lisa wanted us to. We were supposed to be filled with awe and inspiration. We weren't.

    At Barnes and Noble, I could tell that Lisa was bored. Tess and I like to look at fashion magazines, but Lisa finds them boring. I used to feel that way, but lately I've been feeling more fun and light. Not everything has to be so serious all the time. It's okay to pick out an imaginary wardrobe out of Vogue. So what if it's silly and superficial? Every now and then, I like thinking about things like shoes and purses.

    Now I feel like I need to give Lisa some space, but we're on a tight schedule. Maybe I'll wait until she calls me. Gah. It didn't used to be this hard between us.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.