[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

It's not easy being green.

September 21st, 2000 - 9:37 PM

    Today I went on the first field trip since grade school. (I'm a senior in high school.) We went to the Federal Reserve where they have lots and lots of pretty money. I don't understand how those people can destroy the crinkled bills. They look quite all right to me. Money is... money.

    Anyway, the first thing I learned today is that as it turns out, my favorite color is not yellow. I've been living a lie. It's been green all along. Today my (two!) shirts were green, along with my socks, purse, cell phone, back pack, eyes, and mint chocolate chip shake from Baskin Robbins. I love green guys. I know what you're thinking. An astounding revelation, Brigid! Fascinating, really! I know. I know. Try to contain your excitement.

    Another thing I learned today is that I'm horrible in social situations when people throw me off. I'm very very shy when I'm not with friends that I know and who know me. I was stuck with a bunch of chicks who know next to nothing about what I'm really like. They kept trying to reach out to me, but I couldn't really make conversation. I'm bad at coming up with things to talk about. I'm pretty different. It's not like I can say, "Wasn't The Daily Show hilarious last night?" They'd probably be like, "Is that the show with Barbara Walters?"

    ...and last but not least, I learned that those trader guys who sell stock with hand signals *will* forget business momentarily when a bunch of teenage girls wave at them. Yup. If you make cute faces and wave, you can make them buy stock in Firestone tires.

    I hope this was insightful. Next time you question your favorite color, social anxiety, and flirtation with brokers, you can keep this all in mind.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.