[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Helping people hurts.

February 01, 2002 - 9:56 AM

    I hate the snow.

    On Wednesday night, I went to a To Kill A Mockingbird discussion group at school. (I needed the points for my Culture & Civilization class.) It ended at around 11:00 at night. It was snowy as hell, but what could I do? I had to drive home. After driving for a while, I came to a light. At this point, my car decided to slide and do a 180. No one was around (thank God), so I started driving in the other direction. There didn't seem to be anywhere to turn around, but then I saw a car up ahead pulling out of somewhere. I turned in, only to find that it was just a patch of snow. And my car was stuck.

    A guy came running over to my car, explaining that he had just helped *that* guy get out of the snow. I'm a little wary of strangers, but I sized up his karma and decided he was all right. Plus I didn't want to be stranded. He got my car out of the snow and bacl on to the street. I got in the driver's seat and he was standing by my window, saying goodbye as I thanked him profusely.

    Then he got hit by a car.

    Seriously. A car from the oncoming lane slid right by my car and hit the Good Samaritan in the back of the leg, sending him flying towards my car. I immediately got out and asked if he was all right. The car that hit him proceeded to hit another car. It was a mess. I waited for the police to come, as I was a witness to the accident. I felt quite bad for the Good Samaritan. He wanted to help and he got hit by a car. It seems like a cruel joke of the Universe, which has a great taste for irony.

    From this experience, I realized that I am not a panic personality. Well, I reaffirmed this notion. It's funny because many people in my family suffer from panic disorder. I am oddly calm about serious things. True, I flip out over ridiculous things. No matter. When that guy was hit by a car, I didn't scream. I got out of the car very calmly. I hope I don't have to testify in court, because his re-enactment for the cops sort of differs from mine. Not too much.

    Anyway, I didn't go to school yesterday. Oh well. No big loss. I'm a little sad that today is the beginning of February. I'm not too sure why. Maybe it's because of the Most Dreaded Holiday For Single People. Gah.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.