[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

hills like white elephants...

March 21, 2002 - 11:10 PM

    God. I just typed a paragraph and erased it. I suck.

    I am currently attempting to write an analysis paper in which I explore Ernest Hemingway�s short story �Hills Like White Elephants,� Gwendolyn Brooks� poem �The Mother,� and the film The Cider House Rules. My paper-writing skills have fled into the night, leaving me behind to slap something together. It's my fault, I suppose, because I chose these three works. I wanted to look at abortion because I was inspired after reading a really great essay on the subject. Well, actually, I read a lot of essays, but one really grabbed my attention. This woman was able to explain why pro-lifers and pro-choicers never get very far in their debates with one another. She also talked about the commonalities between the two groups. Really interesting stuff.

    If I were ever going to be charitable or an active participant in a cause, I would choose to support pro-lifers. For some reason, I feel more passionate about this cause than any others. It's not out of any obsession with the Bible or Christianity. After all, I've considered converting to Judaism. And I believe God hates me. No, it really isn't about God. It's more of a humanitarian effort on my part. Okay. I know I always say, "I hate kids," but I don't want them to *die* or anything. I've never understood the pro-choicers who tell me that unborn children aren't human and can therefore be killed. What's funny in a terrible way is that most of these people are vegetarians and animal rights protecters. Save the animals, kill the babies.

    At any rate, the essay I read has opened my eyes. No one celebrates abortion. No one wants an abortion. Women who get abortions are not thrilled about it. Some pro-choicers I have talked to seem so enthusiastic about the whole thing that I've often wondered if they get a kick out of it or something. If you want to believe the essay, pro-choicers are offended by the "baby killer" label. They would love to live in a world where abortions don't occur because they are unnecessary. That's where we are similar. No one wants abortions, but pro-choicers see them as a necessity for lack of a better solution. This is a much better outlook on the opposing viewpoint than "sadistic baby killers."

    By the way, pro-choice readers, all pro-lifers are not radical right-wing religious fanatics who wish to take away all your freedoms and claim the United States as our own Communist Pro-life State.

    I really need to get back to writing my paper. Gah. Gah. Gah.

    Oh, and I talked to Alex for a while today. I had this terrible attack of paranoia that maybe I'm some sort of unwelcome follower who he wishes would leave him alone. Then I got over it, but still tried to be a bit aloof because I don't want him to think that I'm especially interested. This was probably a mistake, but it was the only way to make up for following him around like a lost puppy, which is what I was afraid I was doing. I really really really do not think we will ever date. Why can't I move on?

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.