[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Preps in Gothland

March 23, 2002 - 6:26 PM

    Ten Minutes Ago:

    I'm so upset. There's no train that will take me to and from Chicago tonight. I want to go see Janeane Garofalo at 9:00. Okay, this is sort of last minute. So? Also, I didn't actually call any of my friends and insist we go. Plus I can't drive into the city because I fear the expressway. I still want to go. It doesn't seem right that Janeane is in my town, and I'm not even seeing her.

    God. You know what my other alternative is? Seeing Ocean's Eleven again with Sonia and Tess at the cheap-o-plex. I want Janeane! Janeeeeeane. (Yes, perhaps whining will do the trick!)

    Ten Minutes Later:

    I'm seeing Ocean's Eleven. This sucks. There has to be some kind of mistake with the train schedule! There must be. Tess didn't think she could afford Janeane anyway. I'm quite distraught over the whole thing. This is just another tragedy that could have been avoided by planning ahead. I never learn.

    Anyway, last night was interesting. I was on the phone with Claire for a long time, feeling quite non-commital as to going out. She was hyper in a way that I am no longer capable of being, so she wanted to actually leave her house on Friday night. She talked me into going to an 18 and over club where some of her friends were going. I told my parents not to wait up and left the house.

    The first thing that Claire and I did was buy blue hair dye and streak our hair in a grocery store bathroom. Why? I don't know. We just did. After our hair was sufficiently blue, I drove us to this club. When I got inside, I realized that, despite the blue hair, I was the most normally dressed person in the room. Everyone was all decked out in their gothic gear: painted white faces and dresses straight off the racks at Hot Topic. People were wearing leather and chains. It was, uh, unusual.

    Basically, this club was a drug-free rave, complete with glow sticks and bizarre dancing. Claire and I stuck out like a sore thumb, but I didn't really feel self-conscious about it. Her friends seemed nice enough, I guess. It was funny because the DJ played a song no one liked, and I joked that I could go to my car and get my Tom Petty's Greatest Hits CD. This goth guy was like, "I love Tom Petty! Free Fallin is a great song." That amused me.

    Claire told me on the phone that she thought I was perfect for her friend Tyler. As it turns out, Tyler is completely weird. Thanks, Claire. Thanks a bunch. I've been thinking that I should just suck it up and date *someone* but this was not the guy. He would come up to us, stand up very straight and say something, and then leave as quickly as he came. He was pale, skinny, wore glasses, and had on very strange clothing with little buttons and patches all over it. Plus there was the lack of conversation skills. I just couldn't date him. I couldn't.

    Anyway, I better go get ready for Ocean's Eleven. I want to see Janeane Garofalo. At least Brad Pitt, George Clooney, and Matt Damon will be a nice distraction from the fact that I'm missing my idol.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.