[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

HYPOCHONDRIA

September 18, 2003 - 11:51 PM

    Today was pretty sucktastic.

    Somewhere between Social Psychology and Research Methods, I became terribly ill. By terribly ill, I mean that I had a major headache and my eyes were dilated. I could barely pay attention in Research Methods because I was too caught up in what I was going to do about work. Call in sick? Yes. Yes, that's what I'd do. But what about... what about the psychic? We were supposed to see her today after work. Now I really had a lot to think about. Sure, I felt like I was about to pass out or fall over or something, but was it worth missing out on a psychic reading?

    Just as I started to have visions of myself foaming at the mouth and going into convulsions in the middle of Research Methods class, I realized that perhaps I should forget the psychic in favor of treating my obviously serious illness. I mean, what is she going to tell me? "I predict that you will die in your sleep tonight because you didn't treat your disease."

    In the end, I came home, took three Ibuprofen, and watched Passions. I then slept for another four hours. I'm not sure if I made the right decision. After all, I must be careful not to use too many sick days at work because a.) I need the money, and b.) they will get suspicious that I am faking it. I'm usually not faking anything, but I am prone to illness (mental and physical). I also have a slightly dramatic interpretation of events. For example, my mom's van was blocking my car in the driveway last night. I needed to get out.

    My mom asked, "Why don't you take the van?"

    I whined because I hate driving her car. It's big and I don't know any of the controls. I always feel like I'm driving with a blindfold on--except a blindfold that's thin enough to kind of see through. I always felt guilty when I got one of those during Pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey. I would purposely stick the tail in the wrong spot.

    "Fine," I eventually said. "But if I die in a horrific accident, you'll have no one to blame but yourself."

    My parents accused me of being a drama queen. I can't say that they don't have any evidence. Even so, I really did feel sick today. I'm just sorry I missed out on my psychic reading. AGAIN.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.