[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

"Interesting" Entry... ::cough::

April 15, 2003 - 10:21 AM

    I'm reading news pages right now. The news has been very good these past couple of days. I was so happy to learn that some of our POWS were found and are coming home. I'm currently reading a bunch of poll results, and I'm deeply amused that 81% of Americans think that England is our "best friend." That's such a funny way of putting it. England, you're my best friend. France, you're not invited to my birthday party anymore.

    It's Tax Day, and people are funny: Bush also faces a skeptical public. Six in 10 Americans say this is not the time for more tax cuts, which they fear would worsen deficits, an Associated Press poll found. Still, half say their taxes are too high. We don't want a tax cut, but could you also give us a tax cut?

    Anyway, moving away from my sparkling political analysis, I had a pretty decent weekend. Friday night wasn't exactly the epitome of excitement because I had an AIDS workshop at school. We watched a video that brought up an interesting point. The old anti-Vietnam slogan "Make love, not war" is very ironic because more people have died from AIDS than the Korean War and Vietnam War combined. (I'll have to take their word on those stats.) Therefore, making love killed more people than war. That struck me as incredibly strange. The whole workshop made me glad that I don't sleep around.

    On Saturday, after finishing up Part II of the AIDS workshop, I attended the end of Sonia's baby shower. She is showing a little more now, so it is looking less and less likely that her baby is imaginary. It still would not shock me to learn that this was all a desperate cry for attention. The due date is May 17th. I guess we'll see.

    Saturday night, I met Tess and Ophelia at Steak N Shake. As I looked at the menu, I noticed that only certain midwestern and southern states even have Steak N Shakes. If you live in California or New York, you are missing out. Actually, if you live in the Western half of the United States, there are no Steak N Shakes there. I looked up this map, and it's crazy. Thank God we have sixty locations here in Illinois.

    Yes, you found me out. I am trying to write the most boring entry of all time: news polls, taxes, workshops on Friday nights, and restaurant chains.

    Anyway, after Steak N Shake we still had time to kill before going to see the play Moon Over Buffalo. We went to the mall, and I bought another pair of new shoes: baby blue heels with ribbons that lace up around the ankles. Now all I need is an outfit that matches. We then met Buffy at the theatre. I was really glad that my friends liked the play. I hung around for a while after the show and talked to people. Absence must really make the heart grow fonder because I just love all my fellow actors. I can't wait to do another show.

    I hadn't seen Ophelia in a while, and I was amazed at my own ability to keep Sonia's pregnancy a secret. Sonia hates Ophelia. In a bizarre turn of events, Tess decided to tell Ophelia on her own. I, Brigid, actually kept a secret. Tess didn't. It's mind boggling. I guess it's not that big of a deal. Ophelia could have found out a hundred different ways.

    Anyway, I'm going to stop before I bore you to death. Have a lovely day. (And next time you're in the midwest, eat at Steak N Shake.)

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.