[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Job Hunt Begins

May 22nd, 2001 - 6:34 PM

    There aren't any good movies out. Claire wants to go see a late movie (she has night school until ten) and I can't find one. For one thing, apparently not many people go see a movie at 10:30 at night on a Tuesday. What the hell is that? ;)

    Anyway, I haven't called anybody to come with us. I called Lisa, but she seemed less than enthusiastic. Whatever. I don't know. Maybe we could go bowling or something. Sometimes midwestern towns suck. Actually, they suck a lot of times. I've come to a point where I don't mind so much anymore. There's quite a lot of natural beauty around here. It's difficult when you want to go have fun though. I wish we had a cool underground punk rock club, but nooo. Unless no one told me about it, which is possible.

    One terrible thing about being here is the job market. Last summer I worked in an office. Four days a week from 8:30-5:00. I could have this job once again, but it's so damn boring. Everyone there is older than me. I never feel like myself there. So I wanted to get a job more suitable for myself. Barnes & Noble isn't hiring. Damn. I'm still trying to figure out another place to work where a.) I would have to do minimal labor, b.) I would get good pay, and c.) I'd have flexible hours. The American Dream is so hard to achieve.

    I think I might just give in and take the office job. I'd always have quality daydreaming time. Sometimes I'd even write short stories on the side. It's so mind numbing though. It got to the point where filing was fun! Filing was the best thing anyone could ask me to do. Anything but making copies. Jesus. I made so many copies. I killed several trees. I'm sure of it.

    I should go figure out what I'm doing tonight. I haven't seen Claire in forever. The last time I can remember is when I was *supposed* to meet her at a hotel party. Lisa and I actually went to the hotel, but we never went in the door. Everyone sounded stoned and we weren't sure if she was there yet. We left. She called me later and asked where she was. I made up some excuse about my parents calling and demanding I come home right away. I had "forgotten to call her". I'm not a bad actress, so it sounded pretty good. That made me feel worse. I felt guilty about lying to her. Parties like that just make me nervous for some reason. I feel like I should make it up to her.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.