[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Back in junior high

February 16, 2003 - 11:49 PM

    Four down, four to go. My play's opening weekend has come to a close. I still have next weekend, but who's counting? Oh, right. I am. There's still four shows.

    Valentine's Day was not completely dreadful. The show was at 8:00, and I was out of the theater by 9:30. Tess and Buffy had come to see the play, so I went to Steak N Shake with Tess afterwards. It would have been nice to have a date, but oh well.

    Saturday: I slept until noon. Tess called and wanted to go to Barnes & Noble. I had left my car at school the previous night (due to my bad luck with driving in the snow), so Tess came and picked me up. While at Barnes & Noble, we started discussing names we like and dislike. Tess thought long and hard for a name she dislikes before coming up with... Tess. She hates the name Tess. I cracked up. She knows that I keep this diary, but she doesn't know the web address. I told her that I use fake names for everyone and that I call her Tess. I never knew that it was the name she hates above all other names. I won't change it though.

    After Saturday night's performance, which was not spectacular, I was supposed to go to Jack's cast party. The whiny little voice in my head was saying, "I don't wannnna" while my nice side was saying, "It would be impolite to not show up." This is when my id punched out my superego, and I decided to skip the party. What really put the nail in the coffin for me was a discussion with Amanda. She is the stage manager of the play and an all-around nice girl. She said that no one actually invited her to the cast party, which is why she wasn't going. Then she told me about the bitchy behavior of some other people. Cynthia, who I've always considered to be quite nice, has a lot of parties/get togethers. Amanda used to be invited to them, but the invitations have stopped in the past months. Now Cynthia will talk about the parties in front of Amanda without inviting her. It's all very junior high. The more she talked about it, the more tired I became. I just didn't want to deal with anyone.

    When I told Elle, formerly referred to as just "girl," that I wasn't going to Jack's party she immediately knew what had caused my change of heart.

    "Amanda's rubbing off on you, isn't she?"

    Elle spent a few minutes trying to talk me into coming, but I just didn't want to mess with it. Maybe I'm being paranoid, but I think Elle figured it all out and told Cynthia. Today when I arrived at the theatre, Cynthia asked me if I liked The Simpsons. She then proceeded to invite me to her 300th episode of The Simpsons party. Traitor that I am, I agreed to go. I didn't even realize what a traitor I was until later. Seriously, maybe I'm just insane, but this makes sense to me. Cynthia has never invited me to her apartment before. I never minded. It's not like we're close friends. So why did she pick today to invite me? I think it's because of last night's conversation with Amanda... who was not invited tonight. I believe that there is some sort of conspiracy against Amanda.

    Okay. That sounds a bit nutty.

    Anyway, today was a good day. Elle and I were making each other laugh like crazy in the dressing room. It sort of reminded me of the giddy, silly sleepovers I used to go to in eighth grade. And, despite my suspicions, I did go to Cynthia's apartment. There were nine of us, and it was pretty fun. I genuinely had a great time.

    Good night.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.