[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Weekend At Lisa's (Dorm)

October 08, 2001 - 12:14 AM

    I returned from my visit to Lisa's dorm. Here is an extraordinarily long recap:

    I. The Train

    I love trains. I think it's such an interesting way to travel. I got on a train at four o'clock in the afternoon on Friday. I began reading my new book: "Shop Girl" by Steve Martin. I didn't relate well to Mirabelle, the main character, until her chemical depression was mentioned. I know how that is. There's also a part in the beginning where she mentions that she wants to be held. She has sex just so that the guy will hold her afterwards. This got me thinking about sex, which is something I'm undecided about in general. Sometimes I just want to find a guy, sleep with him, and never see him again just so that I can know. This only has a .000001% chance of ever transpiring, but I consider it all the same. During the five hour trip, I also tried to become my Best Self: the very best version of myself that exists. I wanted to make a good impression on Lisa's friends and be non-critical of them. To my surprise, I succeeded. Kind of.

    II. Seduction

    I didn't know what to expect when I met Lisa's friends. I suppose I thought they'd be cool. As soon as we got to the dorm, we went to one of her guy friends' room. There were five or six guys in there, two of them playing guitars. One of the guys playing a guitar was staring me directly in the eye in a transfixing way. Guitars are a major aphrodisiac for me. I returned the gaze, partially due to "Shop Girl" and partially due to the guitar. Later we went to a restaurant with all the guys. As it turns out, the gazing guitar player was more interesting as a musician than as a person. I listened to the guys complain about girls and laughed because they had the same complaints that girls have. It seems that both sexes are convinced that the other one wants someone awful. (Cheerleaders and frat boys.) Somehow I ended up tuning everyone out to talk to a boy named Jack. He wasn't especially physically attractive, but he was sitting by me and was attentive. My usually unused powers of seduction (quit laughing) went into effect and somehow within a few short hours I had made him want me. I knew he wanted me, which was a foreign rush. Little did I know, I had made a big mistake.

    III. Sunrise

    We went back to the guy's dorm so that we could all watch American History X. I sat next to Jack and felt the urge to rest against him, but didn't. I wasn't feeling that forward. The guitar guy on the floor by me rested against me knees. I liked it. I liked having guys around and being in a dorm. We all sat around and talked after the movie. They were having a serious discussion while Jack and I made silly comments. It's been a while since I felt someone's attraction to me this strongly. I really can't say if I liked him. I think I just liked the fact that *he* liked *me*. A few of us decided to stay up and watch the sun come up. It ended up that Lisa, Jack, and another guy watched the sunrise. By this time Jack was on my nerves. I could tell that he was on Lisa's nerves too. I don't know what it was. Maybe how he kept telling me all this stuff that was supposed to show me what a great guy he was, but ended up sounding arrogant/stupid/irritating. Because of the sunrise Lisa and I didn't go to sleep until seven in the morning.

    IV. Collapse

    On Saturday we decided to get ready for the day at one in the afternoon. I heard Jack come in when I was about to get in the shower. They were talking about how he likes me and suddenly I was filled with dread. I had made a huge error. Note to self: Don't flirt with people just for the hell of it. The day progressed smoothly (and Jackless) until Lisa and I were walking back from a football game. Jack saw us and started walking with us. Then he came into Lisa's room and watched TV with us. So did Lisa's friend Bill. Somehow we managed to ditch Jack and leave with Bill to see the school's production of Dracula, which we were late for and accidentally got to see free of charge. By the time we got back, I was suffering from mental fatigue. My Best Self was slipping away at an alarming rate. I began picking up on all the annoying things about Lisa's friends. One makes lame jokes. One has absolutely no brain. One is dull. One is whiny. Gah. They were all awful and I couldn't help but think it. It was only 11:00 or so, but I wanted to curl up and fall asleep. Unfortunately fate had other plans.

    V. Car Ride

    "We're going to see the stars," Lisa's no-brain roommate announced. Putting on my game face, I complied. Walking outside, looking at some stars, and coming back inside was not that bad. But no. We had to drive to see them. We took two cars and Jack was in the other one. Everyone in the car began talking about him and saying how much they hated him. They talked about how he said he wants to ask me out, but doesn't know how. "He's always going after women he can never have," the unofficial witchy girl of the group said, temporarily relieving herself of witch status in my head. Then the no-brain roommate decided it would be fun to lead them around, since they were following us. She began making crazy turns and going through forest. We were in the forest for a long time. I felt trapped in that car. Also, I feared for my life. At one point we were speeding towards a deer. "There's something moving," I said, seeing the glint of the deer's eye. The car squealed as no-brain hit the brakes- a sound that would grow familar. After the fun frolic in the forests of Southern Illinois, we went to a creepy small town where we walked around and played in a playground. It was freezing cold. I wanted to scream. Then we found a giant cross in the middle of a field. It was lit up and unnecessarily gigantic as if the townsfolk had wanted to make sure that God could see it. It was creepy. I'm Catholic, but it was still creepy. Finally we made it back to Lisa's room where the two of us ate peanut butter sandwiches and watched a movie. I was so out of it that I used the wrong side of the plastic knife to spread the peanut butter.

    VI. Goodbye

    We lazily slept until one again. Then we got dressed, I got all my stuff together, and unceremoniously left the dorm. We went to the Corner Diner and talked. We talked about her friends and how she already feels like going home. She'd like to switch colleges every year. She also said that she may stay there over next summer, which disappointed me. I pointed out that everyone would go home and she'd have no one to hang out with. She agreed, but said she'd be able to work at the radio and TV stations a lot more. I was a little hurt that she doesn't care enough about her old friends to see us next summer. Then, as we walked to the train station, she told me how seeing me again made her feel like she was going home. We said goodbye with little emotion and I got on the train for home. I suppose it must have been strange for her to walk back without me. I felt disconnected.

    VII. Stranger

    I finished "Shop Girl" quickly on the way home. Then slept a little. I tried to write, but I felt off because of the girl next to me. She got on the train at the same time I did, but she was teary eyed. I knew that she had just said goodbye to her boyfriend. It was written all over her. I wasn't feeling especially comforting, so I stared out the window. Hours later she began talking. I now know all about her boyfriend, her job, and her life aspirations. The funniest thing is that she wants to be a gym teacher and so does her boyfriend. I've never met such people. The two of us went to get a drink in the front of the train, where I ran into a girl from high school. I did a doubletake and called her name and there she was. I had never liked the girl, but it was so strange seeing her. I didn't think I'd ever see her again. I bought a Pepsi and the future gym teacher told me how she hates Pepsi because her dad works for Coca Cola. After hours and hours, the train finally reached my stop. I said goodbye to the girl and realized that we'd never see one another again, but she'd be locked in my brain. It's odd knowing so much about a stranger. I don't think I ever told her my name.

    VIII. Home

    My dad picked me up, bought me McDonalds, and we went home. I found out that the Emmys were canceled due to our bombing of Afghanistan. I didn't know anything about it. It's strange what you can miss in a couple days.

    El Fin.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.