[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Long Story

May 29, 2003 - 11:12 PM

    Today my joints are aching, and it almost feels as if I've been exercising or something. I haven't. I want someone to yank on my arms until they feel stretched, but there's no one around to do it. I just ate some Ben and Jerry's Chocolate Fudge Brownie Low Fat Frozen Yogurt. I don't know why; it didn't help my muscles feel better. Also, while I'm being honest, I missed the regular, fattening ice cream. It tastes better.

    I have literally spent the entire week doing laundry. It's been quite sad. I guess I'll have to talk about last weekend so that this entry isn't completely boring. You probably don't care about the exciting world of washing and folding laundry.

    Saturday was truly terrible. Lisa wanted to go see The Tossers at the Fireside Bowling Alley in Chicago. (Take the blue line from the LaSalle Street train station to Western. Walk several blocks up, turn left on Fullerton, and you'll find it if you walk that way for a while... if you want to get there for some reason.) Anyway, Lisa's friend Kate works for Thick Records, the Tossers' label. She has the inside track, I suppose. My opinion of her kept shifting throughout the night. We made it to the bowling alley, and everything was fine. Kate got there twenty minutes after we arrived. In the twenty minutes that we spent sitting around, I was already getting bored and depressed. I tried to explain this to Lisa, but she just seemed confused. Here's the thing: places like that make me realize that I don't know what I want. It's got cool, laid-back punk kids. They're just the kinds of people I wish I could have around more often. Or do I? Maybe not. I looked around the room, and people either looked fifteen or their outfits bothered me with their "Look at meee!" attitude. I can't help it. I find piercings and spiked hair to be eyeroll-inducing at best.

    The two bands before The Tossers were so-so. One was some sort of alt-punk-country band. We were sitting down during those. My depression increased. Kate and her friend were in the bar drinking. When The Tossers played, we stood up and joined the crowd. I wasn't all that impressed. I'm Irish, and I love punk, but I'm not a big fan of Irish punk. The lead singer, Tony, threw up on stage from too much vodka. I thought that was a huge turnoff. If he's so Irish, he should be able to hold his liquor. When their set ended, I was ready to go home. It was early, but I was tired. I also wanted to save my car from the train station parking lot. Kate offered us a ride, but she had to make a quick stop at the bar first. It ended up taking an hour. It got so bad that Lisa called someone else on her cell phone. (My irritation level was rising by the second.) To make matters worse, I discovered some sort of green gum on my jeans. I was so ready to go.

    Kate found us a party to go to. Greeeat. A girl who had been drinking would take us to a party, where she would drink some more, and then somehow leave on time to get us to the train station for a 12:30 train. This seemed very far fetched to me. Lisa was convinced that it would be fine. I could tell that, if I didn't go along with the plan, Lisa was going to whine about how I'm not fun/exciting/whatever. I made it clear that I thought this was a stupid idea, but went along with it anyway. We bought some Mike's and some beer and went to an apartment for a party.

    As it turned out, we were at the same party as the band. I drank a bottle of Mike's in five minutes, which was weird because I'm a sipper. I tried to drink the next bottle more slowly, but it didn't work well. My head was spinning a little from being tired, depressed, on medications, and drinking alcohol. It gave me the oddest urge to steal something. I've never stolen anything in my life, and I didn't steal anything then. I wanted to though. I thought, I could take that DVD, and no one would notice. I became distracted by other people, who I'd never met before and will probably never see again. There was a pair of fifteen year old girls from Michigan who had been illegally driving around. They were so drunk. I talked to the lead singer for a while, and I asked him if he was really Irish. He says he is. Yadda, yadda, yadda. It was time to go.

    As it turned out, Kate had no idea how to get to the train station. She dropped us off at the bus station on accident. We ran around, trying to figure out what to do. We called Kate again, she took us to her house, and Lisa's dad came to drive us back to my car. I got home around 3:30. Even though Lisa had begged me not to be mad at her, I was kind of angry. The next day, I was last-minute-invited to her sister's graduation party. I never showed up. I decided that I needed several days to get over the stupidity of Saturday. I went to Khara's instead and was really happy with that decision.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.