[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Best Laid Plans of Mice & Men

May 25th, 2001 - 5:08 PM

    I'm listening to Nancy Sinatra. These boots were made for walkin'. Of course, most shoes *are* made for walking. Except those six inch heels. God only knows what those are for...

    Anyway, my whole afternoon has been effectively screwed up. I was going to pick up my sister at 3:00 and run a few errands straight from there. Unfortunately, her friends were with her, so I had to take them all back to my house. All right. So I drove them home and then left again to complete my errands. First I went to a grocery store to drop off my prescriptions. They said it'd only be fifteen minutes, so I bought a delicious Starbucks frappucino and read a newspaper. (Okay, I also bought a cookie.) Then, when I went to get my $30 worth of prescriptions, my credit card wouldn't work. "Unable to process." So I dug through my cash and found $25. The woman dropped $5 and took all my cash. That left me with no money for food (damn you, Starbucks), so the only food I've had today is a piece of toast and the frappucino/cookie.

    Then I went to Barnes & Noble to turn in my application.

    "You're the 20th person to turn one in today," the middle aged manager said, "And about the 800th this week!"

    "Great." Damn.

    "We just had a hiring rotation," he tells me, eyeing my application, "What hours are you available?"

    "I'm free all summer." Semi-lie.

    "We could really use someone in the cafe, if you're willing to that..."

    "That'd be awesome!" Starbucks! I love you!

    When I got back to my car I realized that I only know how to drink Starbucks- not make it. Oh well. They'll probably never call me anyway, seeing as though they have a zillion applicants. Maybe even some who know how to make a mocha latte. The good thing is that I looked kinda cute today and I was uncharacteristically enthusiastic. The middle aged guy seemed to appreciate it. No one can resist hiring a girl with glitter eyeshadow.

    I also attempted to apply to Hallmark, but they had no applications at that location. Have I ever mentioned that I have a greeting card fetish? I do. Every time that I pass a card aisle I search my memory for upcoming holidays and birthdays with the hopes that I'll be able to buy a card. A lot of times I buy blank or funny cards just for the Hell of it. Many a person has received a card from me for no particular reason.

    I really want out of the office job. W. (my boss)said to work there until I figured out whether or not I wanted to work there. Basically, if Barnes & Noble calls... I'm outta there. Goodbye filing cabinets! See ya later data entry! Adios... some other part of my job!

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.