[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

I'd like to thank the Academy... for nothing!

February 12, 2002 - 5:30 PM

    The Oscar nominations are here. I'm pretty big on awards shows. I'm pretty big on the entertainment industry in general. This was a sad, sad year for films. Granted, I refused to see most of the films that are nominated so I can't really judge them with 100% accuracy. I really should find a theater that's playing In The Bedroom. I don't care to see Lord of the Rings. For one thing, I don't like jumping on bandwagons. Especially bandwagons that involve Elijah Wood and a bunch of elves. Also, so help me God, if Moulin Rouge wins Best Picture I will never watch the Academy Awards again. Ever. Okay. Yeah, I know I said the same thing about Titanic winning, but this time I mean it. Really.

    And I think it goes without saying that The Royal Tenenbaums was robbed. Not even a Gene Hackman nomination after his Golden Globe win! It better get Best Screenplay.

    Anyway, here are my guesses--not personal choices--for the winners. I did pretty well at guessing the Golden Globe winners.

    BEST PICTURE

    A Beautiful Mind
    Gosford Park
    In the Bedroom
    The Lord of the Rings
    Moulin Rouge

    BEST DIRECTOR

    Robert Altman, 'Gosford Park'
    Ron Howard, 'A Beautiful Mind'
    Peter Jackson, 'The Lord of the Rings'
    David Lynch, 'Mulholland Drive'
    Ridley Scott, 'Black Hawk Down'

    BEST ACTOR IN A LEAD ROLE

    Russell Crowe, 'A Beautiful Mind'
    Sean Penn, 'I Am Sam'
    Will Smith, 'Ali'
    Denzel Washington, 'Training Day'
    Tom Wilkinson, 'In the Bedroom'

    BEST ACTRESS IN A LEAD ROLE

    Halle Berry, 'Monster's Ball'
    Judi Dench, 'Iris'
    Nicole Kidman, 'Moulin Rouge'
    Sissy Spacek, 'In the Bedroom'
    Renée Zellweger, 'Bridget Jones's Diary' (I'd love her to win, but it will never happen.)

     

    BEST ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

    Jim Broadbent, 'Iris'
    Ethan Hawke, 'Training Day'
    Ben Kingsley, 'Sexy Beast'
    Ian McKellen, 'The Lord of the Rings'
    Jon Voight, 'Ali'

    BEST ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

    Jennifer Connelly, 'A Beautiful Mind'
    Helen Mirren, 'Gosford Park'
    Maggie Smith, 'Gosford Park'
    Marisa Tomei, 'In the Bedroom'
    Kate Winslet, 'Iris'

    BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

    'Amélie'
    'Gosford Park'
    'Monster's Ball'
    'Memento'
    'The Royal Tenenbaums'

    BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

    'A Beautiful Mind'
    'Ghost World'
    'In the Bedroom'
    'The Lord of the Rings'
    'Shrek'

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.