[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Evil Priest and Claire's New Career

February 18, 2002 - 12:33 PM

    This is going to be very short because I have a 1:00 class with my evil Religion & Literature teacher, who gave me a C+ on a paper last week. For no good reason. At all. For one thing, the essay question was incredibly stupid. It looked something like this:

    "In Andrew Greeley's book The Catholic Imagination, he says 'Catholics live in an enchanted world.'" Does the Eucharist and the Passover support his assertion? Explain.

    Okay. For one thing, the Passover is kind of a JEWISH holiday. It's not going to prove that CATHOLICS live in an enchanted world. I tried to fake it though, figuring that's what he wanted. When I got my paper back, he'd made only a couple comments. He circled the sentence about the Protestant views of the Eucharist and wrote, "This paper is about Jews and Catholics." My whole point is this: All Christians celebrate the Eucharist. If I'm supposed to tell you what makes *Catholics* so *enchanted*, then shouldn't I say how they are different from Protestants that makes them so enchanted? He wrote that I have difficulty staying on track. Grrr. I think I may go to his office and contest the grade in a dignified manner. I will most likely be rebuffed, as this man believes he is always right. Grr.

    My teachers this semester are brutal. Just brutal. I hate it. C+?!? What is *that*? Man, I don't like that guy. And he's a priest, too. That makes me not liking him seem wrong somehow, and yet I don't feel all that bad about it.

    By the way, I survived Valentine's Day. Alex and I had a nice talk. I am more doubtful than ever about us dating though. It was a pretty damn depressing day.

    Also, I'll have to update you on the Claire situation later. I talked to her Saturday. She told me her new career aspiration: to be a stripper. Ew. Ew. Ew. I asked her if the place had a pole, and they certainly do. She doesn't have the job yet. I highly doubt she'll get it. She's not stripper material. I don't know why she's even considering it. It seems wrong on so many levels. Oh, I know. Money.

    Money: the root of all evil and most joy.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.