[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Passionate Public Speaking

December 03, 2002 - 11:04 PM

    I don't think I have ever given a truly passionate speech until this morning. Truth be told, I have not given that many speeches period. They have all been basically informative. Giving a persuasive speech is entirely different, particularly if you really care about what you're saying. I am so strongly pro-life, and it makes me emotional. While I was talking, I was trying to find the right mix of emotion and fact. I had tried to weed out any propoganda and shady poll percentages for my report so that it was as clear and honest as possible. I had four minutes to argue my case, which is not nearly enough time.

    I honestly have no idea how effective my speech was. I know that I spoke with a lot of passion and emotion, but sometimes that's a negative thing. I was also sort of disappointed in myself for not spending as much time on the report as I would have liked. (If you're interested, here it is: Pro-woman, Pro-child, Pro-life.) It's a tough issue to take on. Many pro-choice advocates have the sense of passion for their cause. I would almost say that it is impossible to convert a pro-choice person to the pro-life side, but I've read too many testimonials from former pro-choicers to believe that. I like to think that people can change their thinking patterns.

    At any rate, it's so hard to stand up in front of people and know that what you're saying is going to piss some of them off. It's also difficult to keep my emotions in check. I can really get going when I'm serious about an issue.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.