[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Rebel

February 12, 2003 - 10:07 AM

    I've been skipping classes this week. On Monday morning, I realized that I still hadn't typed the paper I should have been doing Sunday night, but instead wrote this entry. The class was at 9:00, so I decided not to go. I typed up the paper and e-mailed it to the professor, claiming that I didn't "feel well." I sent the e-mail at 9:15, so it wasn't terribly late. (I got the paper back today; it was an A. Go figure.) I still managed to go to my 11:00 and 1:00 classes. No sense in missing those.

    Tuesday rolls around. I have Cultural Diversity class at 9:30. Didn't I have something due in that class? I think I might have... Oh God. I have a four page paper about the movie Roger and Me. I didn't even watch Roger and Me. Dammitdammitdammit. There's only one thing to do: skip class. If I turn it in Thursday, I'll get four points taken off. I think I can live with that. So now all I have to do is rent the movie. I know for a fact that the video store I work at does not have it. I go to Blockbuster. The girl there was very nice, considering that the place was filled with people who were too cheap to see My Big Fat Greek Wedding in theaters. Unfortunately, they didn't have Roger and Me. I go to a place called Family Video, where I'm not even a member, and they don't have it. I try Suncoast in the mall. They'll have to special order it. Same with another store. They tell me to go to Crow's Nest. The girl there was also very nice, but she didn't have Roger and Me. Then, finally, after almost two hours of searching (counting a coffee break), I found it! Sure, I had to open up a membership at Hollywood Video, but I found it! And the heavens rejoiced.

    Now all I have to do is watch it and write a four page report. Except maybe I should go get a Subway sandwich first. And check my e-mail. And send out Valentine's Day cards to loved ones. And pick my sister up from school at 2:40. And then, last but not least, watch Roger and Me. It was pretty funny in a sad way. Michael Moore is not my favorite guy, but the movie was still funny.

    It is now Wednesday, and I haven't written the report yet. In fact, since time is of the essence, it would be wise of me to type it right now. Too bad I don't feel like it.

    Tomorrow is the preview show of our play. Time to freak out. I keep messing up my lines, even though I know them. I have to find a way to not do that.

    I have had a Get-Up Kids patch on my backpack for over a year, and no one ever comments on it. In the past two weeks, two people have. One was a random girl in the parking lot, who I later realized is in one of my classes. The other was the director, who asked me who they were. "A band," I said, which may have been stating the obvious. I don't know. Jeff and Simon started telling him how great The Get-Up Kids are. Jeff was shocked that I like them. He looked at the other patches and his shock grew.

    "So, you're, like, a punk rock kid?"

    "Yeah."

    "That's surprising."

    "I know."

    This is always the reaction I get, but that's okay because it amuses me. I was pleased to be called a punk rock kid. It may not be the complete truth, but it's a compliment by my standards. After all, I do have preppy roots.

    The end.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.