[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Shalom.

February 23rd, 2001 - 12:14 AM

    Once again, it's technically Saturday because of fourteen minutes, but oh well.

    Tonight I did something I have never done before. I attended a Jewish service at the local synagogue. Lisa and I secretly went. It was awesome. Afterwards we talked with people and I met a Holocaust survivor. It made me kind of wish that I had been born Jewish because I really love the religion but could never convert. My family is strongly embedded in Catholicism and it would be very hurtful to them if I turned Jewish. Even so, I'll tell you a few things I like about Judaism and Jewish people. First of all, they didn't beg anyone for money; there's no collection. They are all about equality; women as well as men can be rabbis. They have an interesting culture. They've got great senses of humor. They're welcoming. They talked with Lisa and me. We asked questions and they answered. They gave us punch. It was so invigorating.

    We also wanted to go visit a psychic. We found one called Sister Mary. When we arrived at her business a guy just stuck his head out the door and said to come back in half an hour. We decided that there was probably a drug transaction going down in there. We looked for another psychic but ended up just eating dinner at Steak N Shake. Maybe tomorrow night we'll find a psychic. It kind of reminds me of MacBeth though. He listened to the witches' prophesies and look what happened to him. Then again, it's kind of fun anyway. Plus MacBeth is Shakespeare and not exactly factual.

    An interesting thing I realized today is that I have not cried once since starting medication Monday. Hmm. I have also lost 4 pounds since last month and now weigh 131 pounds. I'm 5'8". I still feel fat though. It's odd. I wish I could be 110 pounds but noooo. That's another thing about Jewish people. They're short. I was the tallest female in the Temple. :)

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.