[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The importance of soap talk

July 28, 2003 - 10:48 PM

    My cat is the cutest thing I've ever seen.

    Anyway, I'm feeling all right at the moment. I was pretty depressed earlier. Then I was angry. Now I'm okay. I have all kinds of anxiety about my new job, which I start next Tuesday. It's utterly depressing. Hallmark called today, and I had to turn them down. I adore greeting cards. I'd much rather sell greeting cards.

    The weekend was really nice. Friday night I had to work. I was secretly glad because I was afraid that Tess would want to see Seabiscuit. I'm not sure I could stomach it. (It's so wholesome and feel good and disgustingly nice.) After work, I decided to go to Barnes and Noble on the off chance that someone I know would be there. My old friend Madeline was there. I talked to her for a while. The nice thing about Madeline is that I can talk about Passions with her, as she is the one who introduced me to the show. She invited me to her sister's college graduation party on Saturday, but I already had plans with Tess.

    Those plans were to go to Chicago to see Bend It Like Beckham. It was really fun. I bought some new accessories beforehand, so I was very coordinated. I wore my long white skirt with a lacy black tank top and my favorite white shoes with the black trim and bows. Sometimes the right outfit makes all the difference. The only trouble was that I kept forgetting about my white skirt and ordering what could have been disastrous drinks. The strawberry Italian Ice was definitely stupid.

    One of the many things I like about Tess is that she too doesn't mind me talking about Passions. She doesn't actually watch the show (she likes All My Children), but she seems to genuinely like my synopsis of the crazy plotlines. Also, she understands the importance of a cute outfit. She always says, "You look so cute!" at the appropriate time. I love that.

    Wow, was this a superficial entry or what? Oh well. It's probably better than me moaning about my new job and how my life sucks. It could be worse. I could be one of the characters in Candace Bushnell's Trading Up, which I am currently reading. I love Sex and the City, which is why I'm reading Candace's book, but all the characters are awful people. Books like this always make me afraid of New York City. I always hope that they're completely untrue portrayals of NYC society, but part of me isn't so sure. A lot of it clashes with my midwestern sensibilities. Sleeping with countless people, including a friend's husband, to get ahead? Spending $50,000 on a pearl necklace? It seems like no one should be that cruel, and yet they are. Maybe I should stay in Chicago. Then again, maybe it's cities in general. Today a couple came in to play the lottery. They said they won two dollars, which I gave them. They were out the door when I noticed that they won four dollars. I ran out to tell them.

    "People in Chicago would have just kept it," the woman marvelled.

    I wonder if that's true.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.