[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Truly an Independence Day

July 04, 2003 - 3:56 PM

    It's such a cliche; a few days before that time of the month a girl completely loses her mind. Hello, my name is Brigid, and I am that girl. All that crazy gambling stuff has passed now. I've decided that I should never play the lottery again. An alcoholic shouldn't have even one drink, and I shouldn't have even one $1.00 scratch-card. Also, in the past week, my friendship with Lisa has completely turned around. All that bitterness has faded into the background.

    You see, yesterday was Lisa's 20th birthday. I talked to her after my allergist appointment, and I agreed to take her to the mall. I had to stop to pick up a prescription first. While I was there, I decided to be ridiculous and get her a helium balloon and a dozen yellow roses. I think birthday gestures are nice. I always appreciate them. Anyway, I decided to be especially nice to her. When she said she was doing a radio show this morning from 9:00 to 10:00, I said I'd listen.

    "It's going to be boring," she said.

    "I don't care. It's you," I replied, which isn't the sort of thing I normally find myself saying.

    We went shopping, and all I bought was a medium Gloria Jean's Mint Chocolate Bomb Mocha Chiller. (I have learned the value of a dollar since my two-week stint as a gambler.) Then we went to the thrift store, where we raided the little boys' t-shirt section. I came out with some stranger's family reunion t-shirt. There's a picture of them on the front, and they're wearing color coded outfits. It's like, "Don and Cindy's family will wear green. Bob and Cathy's family will wear purple, etc." (Don, Cindy, Bob, and Cathy are my yuppie names.) It's pretty awful.

    Lisa had to work from 6:00 to 10:00, and I picked her up afterwards. We went to Home Cut Donuts, which is open 24 hours a day. It's become our new late night hot spot. (Yes, donuts.) We later bought sparklers and played with them on her front lawn. It was silly, but fun. And this morning I woke up at 8:55 to find her radio show, and I listened to the whole thing.

    Now it's Independence Day. (God, I should drag out my old Martina McBride CD. She has a song called Independence Day.) I'm supposed to be at my cousin Petunia's Graduation party/4th of July pool party. I wasn't looking forward to it, to tell you the truth. First of all, she's having a French-themed 4th of July party. That's possibly the worst idea I've ever heard, especially this year. No offense, French people, but your government totally did not have our backs earlier this year. As I mentioned at the beginning of this entry, my time of the month has arrived today. A swim party with my entire family is the last thing I want to do to. I want to crawl in bed and die.

    Actually, while I'm still telling the truth, I feel better now. I've been reading Irish Girls About Town: An Anthology of Short Stories. I'm now listening to The Red Hot Valentines, wearing comfortable pants, and sipping Cherry 7UP. It's all very nice and relaxing. I should join my family at the French party, but I think I'll stay here for at least a little while more.

    Happy 4th of July!

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.