[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

This Week...

August 16, 2002 - 11:21 PM

    I'm sorry that I haven't been updating recently. I was out of town for a few days. Plus I'm super lazy.

    First of all, Lisa went back to college last weekend. It was certainly less sentimental than when she left for the first time last year. This time around she dropped by the video store while I was working to talk for a few minutes. End of that story. I had another goodbye on Monday when I went out to lunch with Khara before she moved to Florida. That didn't feel like goodbye either, which I suppose is nice in a way. There doesn't necessarily need to be closure because that would suggest I want to close these people off, which I do not.

    I spent a few days in Indiana visiting my great aunt in South Bend and shopping in Michigan City. Best of all, my mother paid for almost everything I bought. I ended up with four new pairs of shoes.

    Upon my return to Illinois, Tess called and wanted to go somewhere. I suggested the bowling alley, since I haven't been bowling since the middle of May. We agreed to meet at 9:20 because Tess has been oddly particular about time lately. Sonia called me and I invited her along. She wanted to go early so the two of us decided to do a practice game before Tess arrived. As it turned out, a high school friend of ours was bowling with his friend. It was very nice to catch up with him because he reminded me that great guys do exist. He's been dating the same girl--another friend of mine--for two years now. They seem so sweet, youthful, and innocent. They're like the kids I picture when I think of dating in the 1950s: going to the soda shop and sock hops.

    Tess just missed them by ten minutes. Thinking back on it now, I wonder why she didn't question why Sonia and I were there early. I might've wondered why my friends had played without me. (In this case, it was because Tess had been at work.) Anyway, once we were all situated with our ugly shoes, I discovered that I am a horrendous bowler. I don't know if I've ever bowled so badly in my life. My form was as good as ever though. I threw the ball backwards several times. I ballet danced my way towards the lane. For some reason, bowling alleys bring out the most eccentric parts of my personality. I'm one crazy bowler.

    This brings us to today. It was my little sister's 16th birthday. She wasn't able to get her license because she hasn't had her permit for a full three months. She cried about it and seemed a bit despondent. I thought back to turning sixteen and remembered how I hadn't wanted to get my license. It was almost six months later that I actually went and got it. I don't remember why I was so nervous, but it seems very lame of me when I think back on it.

    Tonight Tess and I went to see the movie Road To Perdition at a theater a few towns over. I had never been to it before, but it was much larger and cooler than our regular theater. It was a pretty good movie, and shorter than I expected. All in all, it was a decent Friday night.

    The end.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.