[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Universe Hates Me.

May 2nd, 2001 - 9:37 PM

    The Universe hates me.

    Mock me all you will. Middle class white girls don't get hated by the Universe, you say? Think again. Nothing ever works out right EVER. Not with guys anyway. I am the most romantically inept person on the planet. I couldn't find anyone to go to prom with. The getting set up thing was a dud. So I'm going stag with my friends. The Universe is a cruel cruel entity.

    What's wrong with my friends? Oh, I don't know. Everything. Lisa will drive me mad if something doesn't change soon. The award ceremony was tonight. I wonder if she won the psychology award- the same award I won last year. Honestly, I really can't tell you one damn thing I do that she doesn't. Anyway, most all of my other friends are painfully immature. A few days ago I had this frustrating encounter with Ani and Tess. They basically yelled at me for thinking. I was told that the best conversation is one that requires no brain activity. When I asked for examples, I got "Things like 'The Rock is cute!' That's the conversation I like." I told her that grows quickly boring. I was pretty shocked that these "honors" students felt that way. I wrote a pretty biting narrative of it to put towards my novel.

    The novel. The book of short stories. The I-don't-know-what. I just want to write something. This woman came to school today to lecture us about writing. She's a published author and is therefore the authority on such things. The catch is that she wrote a fantasy-romance novel. It's called I Dream of You. It's about a woman and a male genie. It's I Dream of Jeannie backwards. Oh yeah. This woman is a certified writer of great literary proportions. Now, I'm not trying to be mean. I just hate when people think they are experts on a subject when in truth they barely scratch the surface.

    I'm depressed as Hell. Not because of the romance writer. More because of prom. Because of my obsession with having a date. Because I simply *don't* have a date. Also, I really dislike my friends. Spending the evening with them is no comfort. Then there's the fact that I'm chemically depressed anyway so I don't need a specific reason to be depressed. I hate this. And the Universe hates me. So it all works out.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.