[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Life is waiting for you.

February 18th, 2001 - 12:17 AM

    Okay. It's technically the 19th because of 17 lousy minutes. Oh well.

    I love Napster. I don't know what I'll do when it dies. My latest favorite song is "Life Is Waiting For You" by Our Lady Peace. It really speaks to me. Other great songs I downloaded today include "Creep" by Radiohead and "Bubba O'Reilly" by The Who.

    I feel pretty good today. Friday and Saturday were pretty lame, but today was all right. Friday night was interesting because Lisa wanted to go see the Chris Rock movie "Down To Earth". She called Claire and Leigh to come with us. I called Ophelia. Big mistake. Our conversation went something like this:

    ME: We're meeting there at 7:20. The movie starts at 7:40.

    OPHELIA: Oh. Wait. What time does the actual movie start?

    ME: 7:40. We're getting there at 7:20 though.

    OPHELIA: We'll be late.

    ME: We who? (Just a note: I KNOW who she's alking about.)

    OPHELIA: Buffy.

    ::self-created awkward pause on my part::

    ME: Oh... well... umm... uhh... okaaaay I guess. ::more awkward silence:: Uhh... bye.

    OPHELIA: (uneasy) Bye.

    I hate Buffy. Hate her. Hate her. Hate her.

    Ophelia knows this. I think she's trying to kill me.

    Anyway, so I call Lisa back. Claire could come with us, but Leigh's too broke. I tell Lisa about Buffy. She's mildly amused. She also says that I'm the only person in the world who creates their own awkward pauses. She finds that great. We wonder about Ophelia and what her motives are. Perhaps she doesn't remember that we all hate Buffy. Maybe this is her way of saying "Screw you, I'm inviting her whether you want her to come or not." Lisa and I both believe that Ophelia is easily manipulated by whoever she's hanging out with the most at any given time. "I should try and be a better friend- so I can have more control," I half-joke. "You are the most sadistic person I know," Lisa tells me, "...I should take notes."

    Fast forward to the movie. It's actually not that bad. Afterwards I bet Lisa that I can prove how annoying Buffy is within half an hour. So I basically set out to exploit the poor girl's stupidity. Claire is already freaking out because she has zero tolerance for Buffy. Lisa won't budge. She'll admit that Buffy is stupid, but insists that she doesn't bother her. Anyway, somewhere towards the end of all this we meet an interesting boy...

    I'll call him "Lenny". Lenny "introduces" himself by picking up a book about gynecology. I guess that's his way of picking up girls. Hee. Anyway, somehow Lisa and I find out that he's half Jewish. This is enough for us. We love this kid. He even knows who Jon Stewart is! We talked to him for about an hour. All the while Buffy is frazzled because she thinks he's a dork. Of course, he IS a dork. Personally I like dorks if they are considered dorks for the right reasons. I'm not telling you that I watch Star Trek or anything, but I do believe in individuality and most non-conformists are "dorks". Anyway, Buffy really wants no part of this guy. Her and Ophelia eventually leave. Thank God. Good riddins. When the store closes we say goodbye to Lenny and that is that.

    We attempted to go Cosmic Bowling after that, but couldn't get a lane. No big thing. On Saturday night I spent seven hours babysitting. It was dreadful. Earlier that afternoon I had watched Silence Of The Lambs though. That was good, so the whole day was not a complete waste.

    Today I went to my Grandma's house. Her 89th birthday was on Friday. She's so cute! We rented Arsenic and Old Lace for her because she loves Cary Grant. So do I. :) That movie rules, but not as much as The Philadelphia Story. I came home and eventually got to watch The X-Files. I'm never ever ever ever getting pregnant. Also, I'm not going to get abducted by aliens. So there. ;)

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.