[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Weekend Update

January 07, 2002 - 7:31 PM

    First things first. The weekend update:

    Saturday was unmemorable. I slept in incredibly late, went to an afternoon Mass, and lazily made plans to see Vanilla Sky with Josie. Less than five minutes after leaving my house I realized that it was too icy and I didn't want to drive all the way to Josie's house and to the theater. I called her apologetically, even though I didn't feel much like going anywhere. I rented Pulp Fiction instead. Can you believe I'd never seen it? Neither could the guy at the video store.

    Sunday was similar in the sleeping in part. I did manage to clean the kitchen. My mom later whined about how I don't ever clean anything, while my sister is practically Cinderella. Yeah right. I haven't gone a day without cleaning something in about fifteen years. Later on I went to Maribel's house to watch Sex & The City. Maribel worked in the office with me over the summer. She's in her mid-late twenties and is already married and has a three year old boy. I went to her house anyway because she's always so enthusiastic and excited to see me. Last night was no exception. I ended up staying at her house long after S&TC was over. The nice thing about Maribel is that she is acutely aware of any signs of self pity and stops you from continuing. I'm naturally self depricating, but I can see her point. After I left her house I came home and watched the X-Files episode that my family taped for me. I want to get David Duchovny on the phone and give him a piece of my mind. He needs to sign on for some cameos. Also, the writers are just like the ones on Passions. They have major continuity problems. I want to be hired by writers to point out the obvious flaws in their scripts. I'd be so good at it.

    Today was nothing special. Passions was pretty good, except I was shocked as hell that Teresa had an abortion. I was sure that the writers would draw out her pregnancy storyline. I always feel so bad for Teresa. She can't catch a break. I wish the writers would be nice to her for once, but I guess that wouldn't be much fun to watch. Soap operas are a terrible thing for me to watch because I love conflict resolution. As a kid, even sitcoms would bother me. I'd feel so bad when characters made obvious mistakes that could have been avoided. The trouble is that every story needs conflict. Even wholesome shows like Leave It To Beaver and 7th Heaven have conflict. I should attempt to write an interesting story where nothing goes wrong. It can be done... probably.

    Also, don't shoot me, but I did something stupid. I decided to be the initiator for once in my IMs with Alex. Unfortunately, about ten minutes into the conversation, I realized I had a video to return to the rental place. I said goodbye, turned on my away message and left. Then when I got back I didn't IM him again. I should have, but I started having all these ideas that I was only bothering him and he didn't really want to talk to me. Part of me doesn't believe me, but another part does. The latter part is the one that wouldn't let me IM him. I don't know what's wrong with me. I should give him my phone number and avoid this internet mess. Than again, I've recently come to hate the phone. Maybe a call from him would be tolerable. God, I'm stupid. But, as Maribel would say, "No self pity allowed!"

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.