[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

word game

January 22, 2003 - 12:06 PM

    I'm not a big fan of poetry, especially poetry of the amatuer, angst-ridden teenage variety. I'd say that I write a maximum of three poems each year. I do them for one horribly unartistic reason: money. Last year I made $100 for writing a poem and submitting it to my school's literary magazine. The poem, if I remember correctly, was amatuer and of the angst-ridden teenage variety. I don't think it was a horrible poem, but it was pretty much about antidepressants. I want to make more money, and the deadline for the contest is January 31st. I have to write something. It could be a short story, poem, essay, photograph, etc. I'm just lazy and poems are easier to write than short stories. I thought about taking a thought-provoking photograph too. You can win in more than one category. Seriously, I'm a firm believer in writing for writing's sake, but cashing in every now and then isn't so wrong, is it? Surely not.

    It's unfortunate that I can't find a subject for a poem. I need something to write about. Maybe I should try some free-flowing words. That's what Freud would do. Here goes: sweater, orange, mouse, stripes, pad, plane, clock, table, grass, folder, purse, window, curtains, mauve, beige, wire, strip, lips, curve, amazon, petri dish, laughter, saints, crazy, curly, amazing, lovely, saucy, radio, women, stupid, guy, coat, rancid, punk, band, heart, strings, angels, wings, rhymes, to, from, undone, green, paper, later, printer, mittens, puppies, rainbows, prozac, religion, priests, scandals, kids, babies, awards, gold-plated, army, war, uniforms.

    Okay. I'm done with that little exercise. Unless I plan on writing a poem about puppies who wear mittens, this won't be of much help. At least it got me thinking.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.