[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Oddly Preoccupied with Christina's Hair

August 02, 2003 - 10:53 PM

    Tonight was truly awful. After seeing Chicago, I suggested that we go to Steak N Shake. Before that, Madeline invited us to her house. Buffy shot me a look of horror, so I shifted the plans towards dinner. It was incredibly awkward with lots of silent gaps in the conversation. Madeline is so annoying. So so so annoying. Jesus Christ. How annoying. Her voice, her laugh, her everything is annoying. I wanted to die.

    Speaking of annoying, I was watching E! with my mom this afternoon. There was a special about Christina Aguilera on. I've never had anything against Christina. I always thought she was a horrible dresser with perpetually hideous hair whose music I never enjoyed, but that was it. After watching the special, I was utterly disgusted by her. Her mother didn't help. She spouted out this stuff about Christina being a "role model." That is such a stupid cliche. Dressing like a skank does not make you a feminist or a role model or anything good. It makes you a person who looks like a skank. Her clothes, in my opinion, aren't even sexy. Marilyn Monroe was sexy. Christina Aguilera looks like your average, run of the mill stripper. Admittedly, I'm a conservative. That doesn't mean I dislike sexy outfits. I guess I just think that you can be sexy and classy. You don't have to look cheap and trashy. And you don't have to have bad hair, Christina! For the love of God!

    Stupid outfit #1:

    Stupid outfit #2:

    I know it's none of my business. She can dress however she wants. I'm just saying that if she were my daughter, I'd be humiliated. I'd never call her a role model. I'd probably just saying, "She's my daughter, and I love her. No matter how stupid her outfits are, how embarrassed I am when my friends and co-workers bring up what she wore to some event, or how many times I stay up wondering where I went wrong, I love her!" This would be my mantra. I just hope I never have a kid who puts me in that position. My kid's going to be a nun. Or at least not the town whore. She's definitely going to be somewhere between nun and town whore.

    Anyway, I now have a deep disgust for Christina Aguilera. The stories of her tears and mini-breakdowns, rises and falls, etc. made me glad I like punk bands. They're so damn easygoing. They get out there and play a show, and it's just good fun. There's no drama or rumors or slutty outfits in punk rock. I suppose this is because there are no girls in any of my favorite bands. At any rate, I think I actually dislike Christina more than Britney now. Britney is awful too, don't get me wrong. It's just that she usually has good hair. Christina's is dreadful, especially now that she's dyed it black. I don't think it could possibly be any worse.

    All right. Enough talk of pop stars. They're boring anyway. I'm in such a bad mood tonight. Being with Madeline brought me down, even after the joy of seeing Chicago again.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.