[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

Giddy Weirdo

March 10, 2003 - 11:58 PM

    Remember that poem I wrote? It turns out that I'm one of the winners of the school's literary magazine contest. I don't know if I received 1st, 2nd, or 3rd place. I wasn't home when the professor called, but she talked to my dad for a little while. I was pretty happy about it, but also a little guilty because I didn't put much effort into it. It wasn't carefully constructed, which a poem should probably be.

    I'm currently typing up a paper on the documentary Into the Arms of Strangers. It was due the Thursday before spring break, but I didn't get the chance to do it. Because I suck. Despite that, I'm making up for it now by writing the most riveting essay of my life! Or at least the past week! The trouble is that the teacher gave us a list with thirteen questions on it. He said the report had to be at least three pages long. If I were to answer all thirteen questions, I'd be here all night. My report would also be ten pages long. My best guess is that these questions are a jumping off point, and I am free to pick and choose which ones to write about. At least I hope that's what I'm supposed to do.

    Anyway, the last time I wrote was after I got home Friday night, which leaves me at Saturday night. Lisa is home for the week, though apparently she's going to Chicago pretty frequently. She wanted to go out Saturday night though, so we made psuedoplans to meet at Baker's Square and then go see an undetermined movie. Tess and Buffy came too. After deciding that Bringing Down the House seemed too racist and stereotypical and that Tess refused to see Old School, we finally chose a movie. We had to drive forty-five minutes to find a theater that was playing The Pianist, but we found one. (To see my review, go here.)

    For some unknown reason, Buffy and I started acting like we were great friends. I think Tess and Lisa thought we were being weird. Maybe because we were. For instance, there was a candy machine in the hallway right outside the theater. It was filled with horrifically overpriced candy. Buffy and I spent about ten minutes discussing whether or not we would buy said candy. That was until we found the pop machine where you could buy a bottle of pop for $3.00. We considered buying some, but we just couldn't spend that kind of money on a pop. Tess finally talked us into going into the theater empty-handed. The previews hadn't even started when a couple walked in with Icees. Buffy and I looked at eachother, and we both decided that we needed Icees. We climbed down the stadium staircase and ran out into the lobby towards that beautiful, glorious place known as the concession stand where we each paid $3.75 for Icees. All the while, we giggled incessantly at some unspoken joke between us. I suppose I would have thought we were crazy too.

    Sunday morning I had to wake up (a tragedy) to go to work. I was happy to realize that after that day, I only had one day of work left. Even though the customers were annoying, it all seemed a little better because the end was near. Then I watched the SAG awards. I was so happy when Megan Mullally won, as well as Renee Zellwegger. Even though the SAGs are sort of a big self-love fest for actors, it was nice because everyone I wanted to win actually won. Except for Best Ensemble in a Comedy series, which went to Everybody Loves Raymond. I wanted either Will & Grace or Sex and the City to win.

    Today I had to go back to school after being off for a week. It was a day of highs and lows. I aced a Religion quiz and found out I won in the poetry contest. Then I got a D on my Statistics mid-term, which was depressing. Then I got an A on my Adulthood and Aging mid-term, which was uplifting. Then I bought Arby's, watched Passions, and spent the rest of the day doing things that I don't remember doing, which leads us to right now.

    I must finish this report while I still have energy. I think I've listened to my All-American Rejects CD about twenty times in a row now. Goodnight everyone.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.