[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

The Scare

March 02, 2003 - 11:51 PM

    This weekend has been very strange.

    What happened Friday night is a delicate topic. I'm tossed between my own desire to talk about it and the privacy of a friend. Then again, I use fake names anyway. I don't know. I guess I'll just give warning: If you know me in real life, and therefore may guess who I'm talking about, please stop reading.

    Tess came home for the weekend. She called me on Friday, and we decided to go see The Life of David Gale. I think Kevin Spacey is amazing, and I'd pretty much watch him in anything. We met and Barnes and Noble and hung out there for a couple hours before walking to the movie theater. We bought the tickets, and I bought some popcorn. We were about to walk away from the concession stand when Tess's phone rang. She answered it, and I could tell that whoever was calling had bad news. Tess hung up, looking wild eyed and panicked.

    "I have to go," she said. "My sister just took twelve diet pills."

    Tess asked me to come back to her house, so I went. When I got there, I found that several people were already there. One of them was the "sexy sophomore" that I had a crush on in high school (he's now a sexy senior; the age difference between us remains disturbing). His girlfriend was there too. They look like they could be twins.

    Anyway, in the middle of everything was Annoying Sister. I suppose, for the sake of nicety, I should give her a name besides Annoying Sister. Let's call her Pam. Apparently Pam had taken the diet pills in a fit of depression over an ex-boyfriend. He had returned from a Kairos retreat and publicly apologized to her [for breaking her heart]. Even though she has a new boyfriend, or maybe because of it, something inside her snapped. So she took the pills and called Sexy Senior's Twin Girlfriend, who told Sexy Senior, who threatened to tell Pam's mom if she didn't. She did. So Pam's mom called Tess. And there we all were, in Tess's kitchen, arguing about what to do. Pam was screaming that she would not go to the hospital. Tess begged her to go. Their mom seemed torn. Finally, after calling poison control, it was decided that we'd take her to the emergency room.

    I drove Tess there in my car, and I didn't quite know what to say. I thought, Thank God she doesn't know how much I dislike her sister. She kept apologizing, and I kept insisting that she had no need to apologize. I don't know how she ever came to the conclusion that she did. It wasn't like she planned for her sister to have a suicide scare so that we'd miss our movie.

    When we finally got to the emergency room, Pam and her mom were behind closed doors. The four of us were ushered into a waiting room. Ten minutes later, Tess realized that she hadn't introduced me to Sexy Senior.

    "I remember him from high school," I said noncommittally. I couldn't believe that Tess didn't remember my crazy, cradle-robbing crush on the kid.

    They let Tess in to see her sister after a while, and I went home. The next day Tess came in to the video store to tell me what happened after I left. The dctors made Pam drink one of those charcoal drinks to dissolve the pills. They monitored her heart for a while before releasing her. They didn't send her to the psych ward. They didn't even bring a psychiatrist down to talk to Pam. I don't think she really meant to kill herself, but she was obviously trying to send a message. I hope her family doesn't ignore it.

    As for the rest of the weekend... I'll tell you tomorrow.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.