[ newest ]
[ older ]
[ about me ]
[ who's who ]
[ guest book ]
[ e-mail me ]
[ notes ]
[ quiz results ]
[diaryrings ]
[ alternaprep ]
[ movie journal ]
[ my livejournal ]
[ host ]

current mood: The current mood of lostintranslation at www.imood.com

A whole lot of stuff

March 31, 2003 - 11:56 AM

    God, I'm a horrible updater. I now have two weekends to account for. I'll start with a week ago. Sonia, Buffy, Tess, and I met at Barnes & Noble. Beforehand, I had a lengthy conversation with Sonia about her situation. It wasn't an especially nice conversation, but Sonia is always quick to move past any arguments. She and Josh are fighting, so it seems he isn't moving in after all. She's not even sure if she wants their child to have anything to do with him. Her plan is basically to rely on her parents' money and support. She'll still go to school full time and get a job. Her aunt or parents will take care of the child. I still think she's making a disastrous mistake, but she "would rather terminate than give the baby up for adoption." Obviously her priorities are completely insane, and there's no reasoning with her.

    When we got to Barnes & Noble, I was constantly blown away by Sonia's lying and misinformation. First of all, she doesn't seem to be aware of the little things people do when pregnant. She still dyes her hair and drinks caffeine. Secondly, she keeps telling stupid lies. When Buffy, Tess, and I were alone, I found myself starting every other sentence with, "I don't want to call Sonia a liar, but..."

    Stupid Lie #1 They only had sex one time. "And the condom broke. And I was so scared that I said, 'Never again,'" she told me in a solemn voice. "Josh respected my wishes." Yeah. I'm sure. I called her on this little lie, and she stuck by it. Buffy told us about a conversation she had with Sonia last October; Sonia said that she and Josh had been "having unprotected sex every day for weeks." She got pregnant in August. And it wasn't one time.

    Stupid Lie #2 She was completely shocked to find out she was pregnant! Same conversation in October: Sonia says, "I think I might be pregnant." She quickly recovers by saying, "But I got my period last week." Uh-huh.

    Stupid Lie #3 "I had no symptoms." She was "sick" all the time last winter. Almost every time I called, she said she had flu symptoms.

    Anyway, I've decided to just accept this. What else can I do? Unless she's making it all up, which wouldn't surprise me. She's such a drama queen. Still, you have to have a lot of nerve to have a baby shower for an imaginary baby.

    So that was pretty much how that weekend went. I had a workshop on The Psychology of Negotiation on Friday night, so not much happened. Sunday was the Oscars. I was thrilled with Chicago and Adrien Brody, but I was disappointed in the Nicole Kidman win. I was rooting for Julianne Moore or Renee Zellweger.

    This past weekend:

    Friday night I went to my sister's musical. She was in Once Upon A Mattress, which is a musical-comedy version of The Princess and the Pea. It was really good. Around 11:30 I went to Cynthia's house, where six of us created our own sorority as a sort of anti-fratority. (None of them like a certain fratority, which was holding Hell Week at the time.) Elle was there, and it was great to see her. She's a lot of fun, even though she was totally drunk and started each sentence with, "I'm not going to lie." I had a strawberry cosmopolitan, which was delicious. After spending a long time trying to figure out what to do, the totally sober girl drove us to a playground. It's probably not the best idea to have drunk girls wearing crowns (for the sorority) on a playground at 1:00 in the morning. Luckily, no cops came. Cynthia kept telling me how she's going to call me more often. Elle berated me for not keeping in touch, but was satisfied when I told her I think about her all the time. I was being sarcastic, but she was drunk so I'm not sure if she understood that part.

    Saturday I was being boring and staying home to study. I didn't actually do much studying. Sunday I saw the musical again and studied some more. Lisa called me, and then Tess called, so I spent too many hours on the phone. Tess and I got in a huge debate on capital punishment. I'm on the fence, but she's staunchly against it. I argued that if someone killed my child, I would probably hope they died. She thought that this was the most unchristian thing ever. Meanwhile, I'm beginning to suspect that Tess is really a liberal pretending to be a Republican for my benefit. I hope not.

    0 people have commented

Thank you for stopping by my journal.